Central Heater/Air Blower Not Coming On

Old 12-24-08, 04:12 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

When I turn on the heater at the thermostat box, I hear & see the gas turn on on the furnace and then it lights up. But the blower never turns on in the house. This is the same situation when I turn on the central air from the thermostat. I hear & see the air conditioning unit outside turn on but the central blower in the house never blows the cool air. When I turn on the Auto-fan functions at the thermostat, nothing happens...no air from the ducts.

This is a rental that I'm trying to get rent ready. The previous tenant said everything worked when they left about a month ago. I'd like to avoid having to call a specliast for money saving reasons but will if I have no other choice. I'm completely new to furnace problems. Any specific advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-24-08, 04:42 PM
Suspect you need a blower motor, spin it and see if it spins free.

Old 12-24-08, 09:15 PM

Where would I locate the blower wheel? How would I try and spin it (e.g., with my hand?). Any tricks in doing this? Thanks.

Old 12-24-08, 10:09 PM
Heating Help

The blower motor is in the bottom compartment of your furnace. Take the bottom door off, the unit should shut off with a door safety switch, spin the wheel inside the large rounded metal box in front of you then press in the door switch. If the motor runs you just need a new capacitor, if it doesn't you either need a new motor or the power is not getting to the motor.

Old 12-25-08, 11:27 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Originally Posted by mike n View Post
, spin the wheel inside the large rounded metal box in front of you then press in the door switch.
Makimma,