Furnance keeps starting and stopping until it reaches temp.

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-25-08, 03:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mid Altantic
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnance keeps starting and stopping until it reaches temp.

I have a Nordyne G6RC furnace that starts, run a while, burner cuts out, relights, runs etc until in bring the temp up to close the therm. I have checked for blockages at exhaust and fresh air intake. Vac lines seem ok,(no leaks, and air passes though them).I checked the condensate water lines for blockage, all seems fine,and the condensate pump runs a times. I checked all limit switched all are working right. I ordered a new pressure switch but I can't see how it works off an on. Inducer blower? Has anybody seen or know of a problem
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-25-08, 04:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 769
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
if you can access the pressure switch terminals(2 wires) and as the main burnser is short cycling.....jump the switch (24Vs) if you see the burner ON cycle get longer it is the switch boucing which cuts the burner on and off.might need a slight adjustment 1/4 turn out might do it.
 
  #3  
Old 12-25-08, 06:18 PM
Skip4661's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 298
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did you check the high limit during the off period to see if it is opening. If you have an a/c coil you might want to make sure it is clean.
 
  #4  
Old 12-25-08, 10:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 479
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heating Repair

You need to find out which safety is tripping. If you do not have a meter you can temporarily bypass them with a jumper. Start with the high limit, you should be able to find it mounted into the firewall behind the gas valve. if you bypass the switch and the unit works you have an airflow problem you may have to remove the air conditioner coil to clean it if you have already looked for collapsed duct work and replaced your filter. Then go to your pressure switch if you bypass it and it works you may have a partial blockage in your venting or if you have 90% furnace you may have a dry or blocked drainage system
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: