York ignition lockout due to retries

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 12-29-08, 04:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York ignition lockout due to retries

I'm a newbie here...

York Gas Furnace G8C10020MUD11A

The furnace stopped blowing air.

I took the outer panel off and I see a control board red light blinking 7 times. The error message on the side says that 7 blinks means "ignition lockout due to retries".

I unplugged and plugged back in, and watched this baby fire up.
First I heard a fan.
Then I saw a bright glow.
Then 4 flames kicked on for a short period...

The flames kicked on 3 times, and then the red light started blinking 7 times again.

So hmmm what do I need to replace?

Even though I'm a newbie, I'm good with my hands and this animal seems pretty simple... I'm sure knowledge is king here...

Can one of you guys help me out? thanks in advanced.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-29-08, 05:02 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The ignition control circuit board is not verifying that the main burner is lit.


A lot of furnaces have a little rod that should be sticking up into the furnace flames. That's the flame sensor. Inspect the wire attached to it to verify that it's connected, intact and not damaged. Take the flame sensor out and brush it off with a wire brush to clean off an oxide that can form and prevent flames from getting to the rod.


Give that a try. Fairly often that will solve the problem-o
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-08, 05:02 PM
Skip4661's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 298
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On the opposite side of the glow bar/ignitor you will find a flame sensor. This is a rod with a ceramic base that is positioned in front of the burner. Remove this rod and polish it with steel wool or sandpaper. This should fix your problem.
 
  #4  
Old 12-29-08, 05:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies...

Give me a bit I'm going to try this...
 
  #5  
Old 12-29-08, 05:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
YOU GUYS ROCK!!!

Had some minor tool challenges...
My screwdrivers could not stay in the screw head not much of a slot there..
My son lost all my extensions to my sockets and didn't want to make a trip to Lowes tonight... <grin>

So I just put my wire brush in there and shined up the rod...
While I'm shining the rod, my wife was asking how much would this have cost on a service call... I laughed and said I'm in the wrong business...

Plugged her in and now the heat blows and works GREAT!
I think we were both amazed...

Thanks for your help and the quick responses...
 
  #6  
Old 12-29-08, 05:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
btw, in case anyone is wondering...

I ate dinner in between my 2 post.

So this took what? 5 minutes to complete....
WOW!

I think I'll charge my wife a hundred bucks for the service call...
 
  #7  
Old 12-29-08, 06:05 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Skip4661 View Post
On the opposite side of the glow bar/ignitor you will find a flame sensor. This is a rod with a ceramic base that is positioned in front of the burner. Remove this rod and polish it with steel wool or sandpaper. This should fix your problem.
Well Skip, the original post was at 4:56 PM and both our replies were at 5:02.


Accuracy, redundancy and speed. What more is there?
 
  #8  
Old 12-30-08, 01:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York lockout due to retries

My York GY8S080B16UH11B furnace went out today, with the red light blinking 7 times. I've got very limited skills in this area and was thrilled to find this thread.

I cleaned the flame sensor very well with strong sandpaper, and got a pile of shavings. I then fired up the furnace and thought all was going to work. I got lots of clicking and the system ran for about 2 minutes. Ultimately though, the system shut off (again) and I still get the red light blinking 7 times.

Any thoughts on this 2 year old system? I have a second York furnace running another level of my home, and that one works just fine (not sure if it matters that one system is working while the other is not).

Many, many thanks for any help or guidance. The earliest a repair person can come to my home (non emergency) is Friday (today is Tuesday).

Garson
 
  #9  
Old 12-30-08, 01:12 PM
Skip4661's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 298
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by garson View Post
My York GY8S080B16UH11B furnace went out today, with the red light blinking 7 times. I've got very limited skills in this area and was thrilled to find this thread.

I cleaned the flame sensor very well with strong sandpaper, and got a pile of shavings. I then fired up the furnace and thought all was going to work. I got lots of clicking and the system ran for about 2 minutes. Ultimately though, the system shut off (again) and I still get the red light blinking 7 times.

Any thoughts on this 2 year old system? I have a second York furnace running another level of my home, and that one works just fine (not sure if it matters that one system is working while the other is not).

Many, many thanks for any help or guidance. The earliest a repair person can come to my home (non emergency) is Friday (today is Tuesday).

Garson
Did you see any flame when the furnace started.
 
  #10  
Old 12-30-08, 01:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, I didn't see any flame. Should I leave the top panel off (the one where the 4 burners are located)? I'd thought I should put it back on -- didn't want to be the guy with burned eyebrows...
 
  #11  
Old 12-30-08, 01:30 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by garson View Post
No, I didn't see any flame. Should I leave the top panel off (the one where the 4 burners are located)? I'd thought I should put it back on -- didn't want to be the guy with burned eyebrows...
You need to be a lot more careful and sytematic about describing what is happening if we are going to be of any help to you.

Assuming the other York furnace is the same model, one thing to do would be to take the front cover off the burner compartment and carefully observe the sequence of events that occurs when you turn the thermostat up. Compare that with what is happening on the non working furnace and tell us what differs.

As you've already discovered by overcleaning the flame rod, guessing and supposing isn't an especially effective diagnostic method.
 
  #12  
Old 12-30-08, 02:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok. I had looked at "no1uknow's" post below and felt my situation precisely met his conditions. Since my situation seemed exactly the same, I followed the guidance you and skip simultaneously gave to him.

one unit is in the basement, the other in my attic, so i'm delayed but still working on your suggestions.

Basement unit (working): York GY9S060B12UP11H. Looks different on the inside, with a circular window providing visual confirmation of what's happening with what appears to be a single flame. Increasing the thermostats temp setting above current room temperature:
* green light glows intermittently on lower portion of furnace
* whirring sound for 15 seconds on the upper portion
* heat coil glows orange for 5 seconds (seen from "window")
* blue flame comes after 10 more seconds (seen from "window")

Attic unit (not working): York GY8S080B16UH11B. Has 4-burners, no window. Increasing the thermostats temp setting above current room temperature:
* green light glows intermittently on lower portion of furnace
* whirring sound for 15 seconds on upper portion
* a "breathing" sound for 5 seconds (gas being introduced??)
* no visual changes, another 10 seconds go by
* a 2nd breathing sound for 5 seconds
* no visual changes, another 10 seconds go by
* green light continues to glow intermittently
* 3rd and 4th breathing sounds each with 10+ second spacing
* green light changes to red, then blinks 7 times
* mild gas smell for 2-3 seconds when i'm 2 feet from unit
* system shuts off

Not sure this is helpful, but I don't know the correct terms to convey precisely what i'm doing and what the system is dong.

Thanks for reading...any thoughts?
 
  #13  
Old 12-30-08, 02:18 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Very likely the hot surface igniter is burned out. That's the thingy that glows white hot and ignites the gas. No glow, no burning gas.

To verify this you can measure the reistance across the wires going to the igniter with an ohm meter, which would register iunfinite impedance indicating an open circuit.

Alternatively, you can remove the igniter and examine it carefully. You will probably see a crack in it, often with a little fringe of white powder surrounding the crack.

You would need to get a replacement igniter and install it.
 
  #14  
Old 12-30-08, 02:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wow, that's amazing. i took out the igniter and easily saw some small amounts of white powder on both sides of the model 1271N. i didn't actually see the crack, but it's dark in the attic and my flashlight isn't too powerful.

the powder alone leads me to believe that there'll likely be a crack (which i'll confirm tomorrow) just as you said.

i'll see if i can order one of these, or find one quickly. i've no idea if there are speciality stores that stock these items.

thanks very much for the help.
 

Last edited by garson; 12-30-08 at 03:08 PM.
  #15  
Old 03-28-09, 03:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am having simular problems with my G8C10020MUD11A but I get 8 flashed from the red LED on the circuit panel. The ignitor seems to be working fine, it just keeps cutting out after 3 cycles of on then off.

Can anyone help?
 
  #16  
Old 05-25-10, 11:16 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York blinks 7 times

Very likely the hot surface igniter is burned out. That's the thingy that glows white hot and ignites the gas. No glow, no burning gas.

To verify this you can measure the reistance across the wires going to the igniter with an ohm meter, which would register iunfinite impedance indicating an open circuit.

Alternatively, you can remove the igniter and examine it carefully. You will probably see a crack in it, often with a little fringe of white powder surrounding the crack.

You would need to get a replacement igniter and install it.


Where is this hot surface igniter found so I can check it and replace it if it is cracked?
 
  #17  
Old 05-30-10, 06:31 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It has two wires going to it and sticks up under the burners and into the area where the flames should burn.
 
  #18  
Old 11-27-12, 11:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Frustrating

K so I have the 7 red blink on furnace unit model gm8s080a12uh11a and " this appliance does not have a pilot. It is equipped with an ignition device which automatically lights the burner..." so we turn off the thermostat and turn off the breaker for power. We wait a bit then set the thermostat to auto heat 21 degrees. Then we turn the breaker back on. The furnace starts up, then the "ignition device" lights up and the four flames shoot ou for maybe 3 seconds. Then the ID goes dark then lights up again and the four flames go for 3 seconds and turn off. This happens one last time then shuts off completely except for the airflow it seems. Then nothing happens for the longest time but if you do wait long enough the system starts back up and actually works producing heat but then will eventually go off again. I have a video or can get pics if it helps.
 
  #19  
Old 11-27-12, 11:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So I got it workin but now the light is a slow amber - normal operation with call for heat. Call for heat? I thought that was the point of turning on the furnace?
 
  #20  
Old 11-27-12, 11:34 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Please start a new thread with a description of your furnace and problems.

This thread has been revived so often you are likely to get bad advice because the previous posts cause confusion.
 
  #21  
Old 11-27-12, 12:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
And how do I do that? That's what I was trying to do initially but couldn't find a "start new thread" anywhere? And I already fixed it .. Just need to know what it means by calls for heat? Cuz I got heat now.. So why is it calling for it
 
  #22  
Old 11-27-12, 02:56 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Go here:

Gas and Oil Home Heating Furnaces - DoItYourself.com Community Forums


Select the "Start a New Thread" option.
 
  #23  
Old 11-29-12, 12:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Stumbled in here cause I'm having the same issue, my 2006 York GY9 model furnace is limping along with the draft inducer motor making a lot of noise. When I pushed the error code button I got 8,8,7,8,8...all telling me that the flame is going out or could not be established....a different problem yet from my draft fan issue. I have a draft fan on order from Amazon @ $140, the local dealer wanted $305 for the same, so I'm glad I'm catching this before the fan dies completely.

Anyhow, as for the recycle issues, thanks to those who say clean the flame sensor...gently.

@ Kaodo, A "call for heat" is when your thermostat closes a contact completing the circuit that makes your furnace turn on. BTW, care to tell us what you did to fix your furnace?
 
  #24  
Old 11-29-12, 02:04 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
While people often conclude that they have the same problem as someone else, usually that's not the case. Similar symptoms usually have a variety of possible causes.
 

Last edited by hvactechfw; 11-29-12 at 04:47 PM.
  #25  
Old 11-29-12, 04:49 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thread has been closed. If you have a similar problem and would like help please post a NEW thread
 
Closed Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: