Rheem Fan Limit Switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-31-08, 11:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rheem Fan Limit Switch

My Rheem furnace Fan Limit Switch is broken and I'm searching for a place where I can order it.

The furnace part number is: FGLJ-10EBRJR

Switch part numbers as they are printed on the limit switch:

J9720 Mexico
36T01B3 42261
L220-20F
47-22679-07

Thank you everybody for the help!

Erandas
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-31-08, 12:01 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnace fan limit switches are increasingly an obsolete part uncommon in modern furnaces these days. Trying to find an exact replacement is probably going to prove difficult.

But you can probably find a part that performs the same functions, wither from the same manufacturer or another like Honeywell.

I'd take the old part into a furnace distributor or retailer and they can probably fix you up with a suitable replacement.
 
  #3  
Old 12-31-08, 04:46 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,934
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fan/Limit

From the looks of the numbers that sounds like just a limit.
 
  #4  
Old 12-31-08, 04:48 PM
Skip4661's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 298
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it really broken or is it causing limit faults with the furnace?
 
  #5  
Old 12-31-08, 05:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose,Ca
Posts: 1,561
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Grady View Post
From the looks of the numbers that sounds like just a limit.

You are right.... limit only, opens at 220 degrees closes at 200 degrees
 
  #6  
Old 12-31-08, 07:21 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rather than telling us that the part is bad, why don't you tell us what you are observing that seems to be a problem?
 
  #7  
Old 12-31-08, 09:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: California
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you sure?

furnaceparts.com lists a replacement limit switch for your unit. But I echo SeattlePioneer's comments. How do you know it's the limit switch?
 
  #8  
Old 01-03-09, 12:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To answer the question about what is (was because I finally after 2 weeks of searching found a replacement switch) broken.

The blower fan was constantly running. I pulled the fan limit switch. It was open at any temperature.

Found the replacement part, put it in and finally after two weeks the house is heated again.

Thank you for the suggestions!

Erandas
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: