heater issue

Old 01-03-09, 09:23 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
heater issue

I'm a novice. I have an 9 yr old ComfortMaker EnviroPlus 90 in a dry crawl space. The fans runs, but the burner doesn't light. A friend of mine removed the rubber hose that runs from a diapharam or pressure switch to the the bottom of the fan. It was full of water. Once the water was removed and the hose was reattached the burner lit fine and ran fine. 2 weeks later the exact same think happened. After removing the water the burner re-lit. What is causing this?

Sponsored Links
Old 01-03-09, 09:37 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
You have a furnace which has high efficiency in part by condensing the steam produced by burning natural gas back into water. Just as it takes a lot of energy to boil water into steam, you get energy (heat) back if you convert steam into water.

Usually this water drains away by gravity from the furnace into a pump or drain. But that is probably getting plugged up, causing the furnace to flood.

So you need to check out that drainage sysem and clean it as needed --- it can get plugged with gunk of various kinds.

Old 01-03-09, 09:48 AM
Heat going up your flue is wasted. A 90+ furnace gets the extra efficiency by running the flue gases through a secondary heat exchanger and reclaiming almost all the heat. In doing this it cools flue gasses which contain quit a bit of water vapor down from about 300 to 100 and much of the water vapor is condensed or converted to liquid in the process. That's why they call this kind of furnace a condensing furnace and why there is a condensate line running out of your furnace... to get rid of the water. Some of the water is bound to end up in the inducer (the fan you speak of). Most furnaces have a drain hose on the bottom of the inducer but some don't. If yours does, make sure it isn't clogged. You may be able to correct your problem by routing the hose going to the pressure switch in such a way that water will not collect.