Goodman GMP050-3 HSI upflow ignitor dos not light

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-05-09, 04:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Goodman GMP050-3 HSI upflow ignitor dos not light

Hi
I need help with a goodman Gmp050-3 hsi upflow furnace
it was working fine the night before.
the combustion blower motor works. is this the same as the enducer?
I checked the igniter with a ohm's meeter for resistance and it was 42 ohms so I thought it was the igniter and I changed it and clean the flame sensor with sand paper, and check for any loose wires from the flame roll out safty it has 4
at this point there is no red flashes,the red light from the ciruit boad stays solid red.

shoud I check for any voltage to the ignitor? if yes what voltage? 24v? or 120v?

where can I stat I know I have gas
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-05-09, 04:42 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,925
Ignitor does not glow

With a reading of 42 ohms, the old ignitor should be fine. Never clean a flame rod with sand paper. Use only steel wool washed in alcohol to remove oils or scotch brite pads.
The furnace goes thru an entire ignition sequence & the circulating fan comes on & no blink code?? Something is screwy. I've never seen one do that. You should get 120 to the iginitor.
 
  #3  
Old 01-05-09, 04:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 458
On some boards a solid red light indicates a bad control. What is the model number of the control?
 
  #4  
Old 01-05-09, 05:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by Grady View Post
With a reading of 42 ohms, the old ignitor should be fine. Never clean a flame rod with sand paper. Use only steel wool washed in alcohol to remove oils or scotch brite pads.
The furnace goes thru an entire ignition sequence & the circulating fan comes on & no blink code?? Something is screwy. I've never seen one do that. You should get 120 to the iginitor.

I get no voltage from the control board to the igniter
and the combustion blower motor stay on all the time

the thermostat is set for heat
and the fan switch to auto
 
  #5  
Old 01-05-09, 05:05 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,925
Solid Red Light

Thermofridge is right. I forgot about that. Goodman uses thier own control boards.
 
  #6  
Old 01-05-09, 05:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by Grady View Post
Thermofridge is right. I forgot about that. Goodman uses thier own control boards.
so is this my problem do I need new control board?

what other options do I have before I buy a new board?
 
  #7  
Old 01-06-09, 04:51 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,925
Control Board

We don't know you have a bad board yet. Somewhere on the furnace there should be a "blink code" key. Often it is on the inside of the blower door.
 
  #8  
Old 01-06-09, 05:11 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Hey Xfiles,


What would help would be for you to take the cover off the furnace and carefully observe the sequence of events that is happening and report those to us. You would probably need to observe that sequence several times until you fully appreciated what you are seeing.


The most common way to diagnose furnace problems is by observing the sequnce of operation. You've described some things you see, but not sequentially and not in detail.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes