Need Help with furnace Trane XE 78

Old 01-18-09, 07:07 PM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need Help with furnace Trane XE 78

I have a furnace Trane XE 78, White Rordgers(model:50A50-406) and I have a couple questions with this furnace. I am really new to this, and try to fix my furnace myself.

1. What type is my furnace like standing pilot or intermittent pilot, or something ele.

I will also include picture, so you can see better.

My furnace has this problem, it blowing cold air, and the only way that i can fix it is turn power off and then on again. IT will fix for couple minutes and then blowing cold air agian.

can anyone tell me where should I start to check my furnace. I am live in Minnesota and 2 days ago was -20. It is nightmare.

ImageShack - Image Hosting :: snc00176xj5.jpg

ImageShack - Image Hosting :: snc00177wa9.jpg

ImageShack - Image Hosting :: snc00179ix9.jpg

ImageShack - Image Hosting :: snc00185yv8.jpg

Old 01-18-09, 07:35 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
The ignitiopn module you have is for a hotsurface ignition control system. That means that the gas is lit by an electrical ignitor that glows white hot to light the main burner.

You need to provide a better description of what is happening before we can provide any help.

Withe the fan cover in place and the burner cover removed, turn the thermostat down until the furnace shut off completely. Then turn the thermostat up and pay attention to the series of events that happen as the furnace tries to turn on. You may need to repeat this a few times until you see and hear what is going on and can report it here.

In general, when the thermostat turns on the inducer motor, the small black motor should turn on and come up to speed. The the hot surface ignitor should glow white hot for a minute or so, and then the gas should turn on and light off the burner.

How far in that sequence of events does your furnace get?

Old 01-18-09, 07:49 PM
M