No outside air intake in new gas furnace installation?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-07-09, 05:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No outside air intake in new gas furnace installation?

Hi all,

We had a Goodman 70,000 btu 95% gas furnace installed recently. Everything seems fine, but there is no fresh air pipe installed, just one pipe for venting from the furnace to the outside.

This is a wide open, unfinished basement in a 100 yr old house, very little insulation. There is also a 34,000 btu hot water heater next to the furnace, vented to the chimney. By my calculations, that's 104,000 btu in the basement, and I read that we should have 50 cubic ft of space per 1,000 btu. My best guess is that we have around 3600 cubic feet in a not terribly air tight basement.

Is this situation safe or should I pester my installer about more combustion air?

thanks for any info.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-07-09, 05:03 PM
hvachelp's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: illinois
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by JGardener View Post
Hi all,

We had a Goodman 70,000 btu 95% gas furnace installed recently. Everything seems fine, but there is no fresh air pipe installed, just one pipe for venting from the furnace to the outside.

This is a wide open, unfinished basement in a 100 yr old house, very little insulation. There is also a 34,000 btu hot water heater next to the furnace, vented to the chimney. By my calculations, that's 104,000 btu in the basement, and I read that we should have 50 cubic ft of space per 1,000 btu. My best guess is that we have around 3600 cubic feet in a not terribly air tight basement.

Is this situation safe or should I pester my installer about more combustion air?

thanks for any info.
Fresh intake pipe is recommended for longer life of furnace, its not that much more to run another pvc pipe outside (lazy)
 
  #3  
Old 04-08-09, 06:21 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To add to HVAC's comment without the combustion air being pulled from independently from the outdoors it will cause infiltration of outdoor air into your home through any void possible to make up for the flue gasses it discharges.
 
  #4  
Old 04-08-09, 07:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 10,481
Received 31 Votes on 28 Posts
Many new high efficiency furnaces are already set up for sealed combustion. It may be as HVAC said, simply run a pvc to the outside. I'm not sure you should do that as it might affect the air flow. So, since it is a recent install, I would make a call and ask why it wasn't installed as it is part of that 95% they are claiming. It is part of the system you purchased, not an option that you select later. They should add that no charge.

Bud
 
  #5  
Old 04-08-09, 07:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies.

Looks like we'll be calling the installers. I was hoping the open area would be enough, but it looks like we need the fresh air pipe!
 
  #6  
Old 04-08-09, 04:43 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,998
Received 11 Votes on 10 Posts
Combustion air

From your description of your basement the single pipe is probably fine from a safety standpoint but from an efficiency view I'd much prefer the intake pipe be installed.

Regarding the chimney: How big is it (inside) & of what is it made? My guess is the chimney is too large for the water heater alone & should be lined.
 
  #7  
Old 04-09-09, 04:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Galesburg , Illinois
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink air for combustion on 95 % 70k btu furnace

high eff furnaces need proper air intake , as so not to pull from
chimney flew on watter heater , causing carbonmonoxide to be pulled back into building . vent from outside air to furnace
makes sure this dose'nt happen . this furnace is duel certified and maybe installed as a non-direct vent (single pipe ) or
direct vent (duel pipe ) appliance .
It is not that much more money to install adequate air intake to the furnace , you may need proper air intake in the future , when you seal up building air leaks later on down the line .

I'm a goodman dealer , alway's look to the future .
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: