Age of propane tank

Old 05-02-09, 07:09 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Age of propane tank

I have a 500 gallon underground propane tank that has been in place for about 10-12 years. I am contemplating purchasing this tank instead of continuing to pay rent on it. Does anyone have an idea as to the average life of an underground tank?

Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-02-09, 09:02 AM
Received 31 Votes on 28 Posts
I'm not an expert on this, but a quick search confirmed my concerns. Request an inspection and verify with your local code enforcement that they are still acceptable. I know some areas no longer allow them to be under ground so a change in ownership might trigger them to be moved above. Again not a pro here.

Bud

Old 05-02-09, 09:08 AM
Originally Posted by Bud9051 View Post
I'm not an expert on this, but a quick search confirmed my concerns. Request an inspection and verify with your local code enforcement that they are still acceptable. I know some areas no longer allow them to be under ground so a change in ownership might trigger them to be moved above. Again not a pro here.

Bud
No problem with underground propane tanks in my area.

Old 05-02-09, 09:25 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I used to do corrosion control work for a natural gas utility. That gave me experience in protecting underground steel gas mains, and a good deal of respect for what's involved.

A tank of propane is a potential bomb sitting next to your house. Amonf the most dangerous kinds of gas leaks are underground leaks that can flood basements and crawl spaces with gas, just waiting to blow a house off its foundation. I imagine that propane is much more of a risk in that regard because it's heavier than air, while natural gas tends to rise and disperse.