Advantage Air gas Furnace

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-08-09, 09:22 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Armstrong Air Advantage gas Furnace not working

The furnace is kicking out the code "pressure switch open with inducer on," can someone tell me what this means? We left for out of town and came home to the furnace not working....It's getting a little chilly in here.
 

Last edited by chammer; 06-08-09 at 09:30 AM. Reason: Brand correction
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-08-09, 10:12 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Well, I know what it means..but I can't tell you how to fix it...no HVAC guy...but anyway.....

When the furnace first starts..the inducer fan has to spin and get a good flow of air going out the exhaust. The inducer fan is normally a small fan mounted somewhere on/in the exhaust vent. Then there is a pressure switch that needs to close to ensure the correct amount of airflow is being produced. The controls can tell if the fan is energized...but not if it is spinning at the correct speed or at all. Thats what the presssure switch does.

So you may have a faulty fan, faulty pressure switch, blocked airflow, bad control board..etc. There may be other things, but as I said...no Pro.

First I would check for the fan running..and post back. Maybe by then one of the people in the know will be here.
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-09, 04:29 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It helps to have a voltmeter to be able to test incoming and outgoing wires at the pressure switch, to see what is really going on. For example, if the incoming wire to the pressure switch doesn't even have 12 volt ac juice, then it's not even pressure switch related. I've seen such errors as this already, regarding the error code printout.

Also it is nice to have an alligator clip jumper wire, because with this you can jumper 2 wires to see if the furnace runs when temporarily jumpered. This is not allowed to be left on permanently however, as there are safety risks.

If you are around and willing, we could coach you through this.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: