Blower Motor Working Intermittently


  #1  
Old 06-18-09, 05:51 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Blower Motor Working Intermittently

I have a York Diamond 80 furnace and the blower motor is working intermittently.

The fan starts up fine, runs for 90 seconds or so, shuts down for 30 seconds and turns on again repeating the process. This happens even when the thermostat is set to off and the fan in the run position.

My fist though was that it was the overload protector tripping the motor out, but the fan spins freely when I spin it by hand.

Any ideas?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 06-18-09, 06:20 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Fan Problem

The 90 second run time is pretty short as is the "recycle" time.
My initial suspect would be a bad fan run capacitor. Capacitors are very inexpensive & easy to replace.
 
  #3  
Old 06-18-09, 06:39 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
capacitor

I thought about the capacitor, but the capactor only functions on strtup, right?

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 06-18-09, 11:18 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,851
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The capacitor will be in the circuit all the time. It is a motor RUN capacitor. This a gas furnace? From your description, if you're sure about the time frames I'm thinking you have a malfunctioning control board. Hook up your multimeter to the leads going to the motor and monitor the voltage going to the motor. If the motor shuts off and the voltage goes to 0 the problem is outside the motor. If the motor shuts off and you still have voltage going to the motor, it's the motor and/or the capacitor. Let us know what you find.
 
  #5  
Old 06-19-09, 08:13 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I actually did the multimeter test yesterday and the voltage is always 120. I will try the capacitor because its cheaper than the motor and get back to you all.

Thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 06-19-09, 04:25 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No luck. I verified the board was good and was always sending 120 to the fan when it was supposed to.

I replaced the capacitor, which was bad BTW (put the mete rup to it and it was reading < 40MOhms>, but the fan still had the same problem.

I did have the timing wrong though. It runs fur just under 60 seconds and shuts down for about 20 seconds.

Interestingly enough, with the door off the unit it runs for almost three minutes before turning off.

One more thig, this is happeneing when the AC is on, or the fan or the furnace ... it doesnt matter.

Any more ideas, or is it a pretty clear cut case of it being the motor.

Thanks.
 
  #7  
Old 06-19-09, 05:43 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,851
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
you'll need to replace the motor.
 
  #8  
Old 06-19-09, 07:04 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Motor

Since the cap didn't work, I'd have to agree with daddyjohn. Sounds like it's motor tirme.
 
  #9  
Old 06-19-09, 07:11 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ballpark on cost?

I am thinking around $100.
 
  #10  
Old 06-19-09, 07:16 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Motor Cost

Most likely you're looking at $100 - $150 (rough estimate & just for the motor).
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: