Lenox Gas Furnace - G10RD1-55-2


  #1  
Old 07-20-09, 06:13 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lenox Gas Furnace - G10RD1-55-2

1. The fan contnous to run although the thermostat is set on extreme left/low.

a. Disconnected thermostat wire fan is still running.
b. replaced control relay but did no correct problem.

What else could be wrong. Pleas help.
 
  #2  
Old 07-20-09, 07:18 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Many furnaces shift the fan to full time if the high temp limit swtch opens. Any chance you could photo and post the wiring diagram?
 
  #3  
Old 07-21-09, 02:49 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose,Ca
Posts: 1,573
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by cruzanf View Post
1. The fan contnous to run although the thermostat is set on extreme left/low.

a. Disconnected thermostat wire fan is still running.
b. replaced control relay but did no correct problem.

What else could be wrong. Pleas help.
Sounds like you are in a hot area? Probably the fan switch is being heated by the ambient temp inside the furnace. Do you have a.c. If yes turn on for a while and see if that cools the fan switch. I suspect you do not have a.c or it would have corrected by now.
 
  #4  
Old 07-24-09, 09:56 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by daddyjohn View Post
Many furnaces shift the fan to full time if the high temp limit swtch opens. Any chance you could photo and post the wiring diagram?




Thanks I will send soonest.
 
  #5  
Old 07-24-09, 10:01 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mbk3 View Post
Sounds like you are in a hot area? Probably the fan switch is being heated by the ambient temp inside the furnace. Do you have a.c. If yes turn on for a while and see if that cools the fan switch. I suspect you do not have a.c or it would have corrected by now.


Thanks...no A/C. Will continue troubleshooting later - heater is not yet needed this time it does not belong to me it belongs to a friend.

I was told there is a "fan-limit control" I did see that last time. I will look again.
 
  #6  
Old 07-24-09, 02:02 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by daddyjohn View Post
Many furnaces shift the fan to full time if the high temp limit swtch opens. Any chance you could photo and post the wiring diagram?
Thanks I will ...they do not need the furnace yet.
 
  #7  
Old 07-24-09, 04:48 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I bet mbk3 is right. With one of those fan/limit control switches, you can have the stat turned down all the way, and not be using the furnace, and yet the furnace will have a mind of it's own and start up the blower if the temp in the house got too high. Why does it do that? Because the adjustable fan control "on" setting is set too low.
 
  #8  
Old 07-24-09, 06:33 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ecman51` View Post
I bet mbk3 is right. With one of those fan/limit control switches, you can have the stat turned down all the way, and not be using the furnace, and yet the furnace will have a mind of it's own and start up the blower if the temp in the house got too high. Why does it do that? Because the adjustable fan control "on" setting is set too low.
Thanks 'all. I am very thankful. I will locate the adjustable fan control and set accordingly first chance. I am fixing it for a friend. This is a good thing having found you - good guys..
 
  #9  
Old 08-01-09, 03:38 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
G10rd1-55-2

I have located the control switch it is that black rectangular item located above the gas valve mounted on the furnace casing. There is a sliding knob, which was already at the extreme right. The setting range is 0 - 110 deg F. I operated the slide slightly to the left at 109 setting approximately. The fan stopped. However, it works intermettently. I suspect that, that part is worn out from normal wear and tear.

I need to replace it I think the part # is 1273-P3-1291. Cannot find it in at HVAC Part Warehouse's parts list. But will take the item out and bring to American Refrigeratrion Supply (ARS) they might have a replacement.

Can you tell me if I got the correct part number? Is there any link online that I can order it, just in case ARS cannot provide?

Thanks,

Nic
 
  #10  
Old 08-01-09, 04:21 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Does it say Cam-Stat or Honeywell on it?
Does it look anything like this?

http://www.a-1components.com/picture...8173000400.PDF

or this?

http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...0s/68-0024.pdf
 
  #11  
Old 08-01-09, 08:53 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile g10rd1-55-2

Originally Posted by daddyjohn View Post
Does it say Cam-Stat or Honeywell on it?
Does it look anything like this?

http://www.a-1components.com/picture...8173000400.PDF

or this?

http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...0s/68-0024.pdf

Look more like Comstat but instead of a dial it has a slider under the numbers/setting. Otherwise everything is the same body and mounting. Thanks I think I know what to purchase. Thanks,

Nic
 

Last edited by cruzanf; 08-01-09 at 08:57 PM. Reason: The phone number is on the cut sheet
  #12  
Old 08-09-09, 09:20 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Lenox Gas Furnace - G10RD1-55-2

Originally Posted by cruzanf View Post
Look more like Comstat but instead of a dial it has a slider under the numbers/setting. Otherwise everything is the same body and mounting. Thanks I think I know what to purchase. Thanks,

Nic
Making closure of this overdue thing. Brethren: The old fan control switch is not worn in fact it looks brand new. Operating the mechanism by hand stops the fan. I backed off the calibration screw 1/4" turn at the end of the thermal strips it worked. Closed the unit and tested several times, tested satisfactory. I have to return the new part. Thank you all.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: