Using furnace fan on/off input as electronic timer

Old 09-13-09, 09:47 AM
G
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Using furnace fan on/off input as electronic timer

I have installed one 120vac 18 watt UV-C anti-germicidal light in the return duct and one after the A-coil of my natural gas furnace. (These lights supoosedly kill viruses, germs, mold, etc.)

I would like to connect the lights to the furnace fan on/off switch so that they would be on only when the fan is on. I would like to tap onto the 120vac electricity going to fan to power a separate residential socket receptacle into which the lights would be plugged.

Is this possible and safe? Is there a better way of doing this?

Thanks.

Old 09-13-09, 02:58 PM
M
You need to get a flow switch... and a auxiliary low voltage relay with 120 volt contacts that is connected to the 'R'(hot)of your furnace.

Old 09-13-09, 03:14 PM
G
Wink

Thanks for the info! I'm a novice at this. Any more details you could provide would be very helpful. Thanks again.

Old 09-13-09, 09:38 PM
I have mine plugged right into the outlet, and never shuts off, unless I don't have my fan on for a long time.

My fan is on most of the time, and the UV light keeps the A-Coil "clean" all times.

And I don't think I've ever seen UV light cycle on and off with the equpment.

Old 09-14-09, 12:25 AM
F
Received 37 Likes on 29 Posts
If your furnace control board has terminals on it for an electronic air filter you could probably connect the lamps to those terminals. You need to be mindful of how much power the lamps draw and the rating of the electronic air cleaner terminals.

Old 09-14-09, 05:53 AM
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts