Capping an unused gas line?


  #1  
Old 09-14-09, 06:24 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Capping an unused gas line?

I recently purchased a home, and the sellers left a Buck Stove Vent Free fireplace. My husband and I don't want it and want to disconnect it properly from the existing gas line it is connected to. How do we do this? I see where the line connects in the wall, and it looks like I can use a wrench to release the line with the gas to the house turned off, and then we cap it somehow? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!
 

Last edited by kfornadel; 09-14-09 at 07:07 PM.
  #2  
Old 09-14-09, 06:38 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Look for a second shut off valve, one that only works for the stove line. Then, you can buy a cap & some pipe dope. Cap the nipple & it's done. Some people use teflon tape with the pipe dope. Others don't.
 
  #3  
Old 09-14-09, 06:47 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
The valve may have a flare end. If so you can not use a regular cap. You must use a flare cap.
 
  #4  
Old 09-14-09, 06:53 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
are we talking about the valve inside the house or outside the house? the connection to the wall is just like screwed on there, I don't see a valve other than the shutoff on the actual unit.
 
  #5  
Old 09-14-09, 08:29 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
We are talking about inside the house. There is a main valve inside at the gas meter. There may be another valve on the line that goes to the stove. Trace the pipe to where it meets the main line. If there isn't a valve, then you will have to use the valve at the meter. If that's the case, all pilot lights, if any, will have to be lit again after the job is done.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: