new furnace wireing


  #1  
Old 09-20-09, 08:02 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ny
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
new furnace wireing

Hi,
Im new here and have one easy question. Im installing a new patriot 80 oil furnace, just replacing a out dated oil furnace to this new one. There is 3 black wires and 3 white wires comming out of the new furnace to hook up to the power. the white wires are hooked together and the black wires are hooked together out of the new carton. Do they all stay together when i hook them up to the wire that use to go to the old furnace. I didnt change anything from the service panel of the house. the old furnace just had one white and one black comming out of it.
thankyou
 
  #2  
Old 09-20-09, 07:48 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What does the install manual say about this wires?

I'm going to say wire it all up together, but I don't have the manual, so you'll have to look at it on your end.
 
  #3  
Old 09-20-09, 09:57 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 38 Likes on 36 Posts
Wiring

The diagrams I see here http://www.heatcontroller.com/produc...046432K001.pdf
show only 1 or 2 blacks & 2 whites.
 
  #4  
Old 09-21-09, 02:38 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ny
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
thank you that manual shows 2 wire, but mine is three my manual shows three. i left them bundel in three and hooked it up and fired it up last night and it ran fine

thank you
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: