Armstrong Error code (9 flashes)


  #1  
Old 09-22-09, 12:29 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Armstrong Error code (9 flashes)

I went to switch my furnace to heat for the first time after summer, only to find it sadly dead... It is relatively new (installed only 10 months ago!), Armstrong (G1N80BU) and is blowing the 5A blade fuse on the circuit board. I can't hear anything happen prior to the fuse blowing (like the igniter, etc). Seems like as soon as it tries to go to heat the fuse blows. I only tried it a couple times, since I was wasting perfectly good fuses.

I got the error code from the LED after the second fuse blew and it is giving me 9 flashes.. which leads me to a fairly cryptic error message (Incorrect line voltage phasing). unfortunately, I don't know who installed the furnace (as I only bought the house in March) but I think it is still under parts warranty. Am hoping to get an idea of what the problem is.. hopefully something i can replace..
 

Last edited by kendie; 09-22-09 at 12:34 AM. Reason: added the actual error message
  #2  
Old 09-22-09, 07:40 AM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Someone should be able to tell you who put that furnace in. Get that guy back out there! Or if he won't come, say you will report him. Stand firm if you know for a fact you have never tampered with the furnace, nor put in say a new thermostat(you didn't did you?)and this only happened when you tried the furnace for the first time ever.

Just make sure first that no condensate water from say the a/c part in the furnace (if you have cental a/c, that is)spilled over and caused water damage inside the furnace controls. If absolutely no sign of that, make some phone calls. Even if that did happen though, on such a new furnace, that should not even have happened, yet.

And there should not be a service charge on making the furnace the way it should have been in the first place!
 
  #3  
Old 09-22-09, 09:53 AM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,295
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
With a furnace that new, I would be making calls rather than attempting a home fix. The previous owner knows who installed the furnace and should have the company's name.

Many "used" homes have a one year warranty included in the sale to cover such problems.

Lastly, I would contact Armstrong. Have the model and serial number handy when you call. They should be able to give you the name of the installer or at least the local distributor, and may offer some suggestions as well.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: