Bryant FA fan running, tstat unhooked, no heat

Old 10-15-09, 05:29 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Bryant FA fan running, tstat unhooked, no heat

HI, I am trying to diagnose a Bryant Forced Air Gas Furnace for my parents. Here is what I know

Fan runs constantly

no heat

pilot is lit

thermostat not the problem

unhooked t-stat, fan continued to run, and not talking for just a couple minutes like they tend to do. It ran for a long time and only finally stopped when I shut off the switch at the furnace.

Jumped red and white at t-stat, no voltage, no spark, nothing.
I am tempted to jump them at the board, but look further down, there are two sets of red white on the control board. I guess it doesn't matter what colors as long as I jump W RH I am good.

I traced the tstat lines to the lower panel of the unit. I am no professional, but I was confused when I saw two control lines. One was a red white, and the other is the 4 lines. Now the bundle with 4 lines is the one that goes to the t-stat, and that has a red white in it as well. Why another bundle with just red white? and I don't know where that was going to.

We have never had a problem in 23 years. never changed anything, just went out today.

Thank you we are cold.

PS. I am not getting any other sequence of events, no clicking etc. However I imagine since the furnace is not geting the 24 volt signal to start up, it is just sitting around waiting. I am however wondering why the blower is constantly on, even without any wires connected to the tstat. weird wouldn't you say?

Old 10-15-09, 05:42 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
What is the model and serial number of the furnace? This would be on a sticker in the burner compartment.

Using a jumper wire between Rh and W would be worth a try.

Old 10-15-09, 05:53 PM
M