1985 bryant furnace not running ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-16-09, 06:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1985 bryant furnace not running ?

Hello, Im new DIY'r here.

Just having and issue with this furnace. Im renting an appartment.
So its been kicking off and on every 5-6 minutes. I thought maybe the filter was dirty but it was new.
So I open up the top and bottom panels and its was very dirty inside. I cleaned what I could without hitting any wires, which all look very good.

Well after I put everything back the thng isnt kicking on, and its getting a little chilly in here.

I saw the white button behind the bottom panel, to the left. Pushing that clicks one relay but not the other. I have flame just not kicking on....

It also has a newr honeywell thermostat electronic POS can be used for every HVAC thier is out there from what it says. ?

Anyone know if it has a reset button ??
I hate to call the landlord!

thanks in advance! Beer 4U2
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-16-09, 06:12 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What's the make and model of the furnace. It would be on the rating plate in the burner compartment of the furnace.
 
  #3  
Old 10-16-09, 06:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by SeattlePioneer View Post
What's the make and model of the furnace. It would be on the rating plate in the burner compartment of the furnace.
thanks for the quick reply, carrier corp 1985
394 GAD048125 ?

also its 40 degrees outside here if that matters and its natural gas.
 
  #4  
Old 10-16-09, 07:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh and I forgot the pilot is lit.

Just looked again, switched the gas off to pilot waited 5 minutes and turned back to "ON", still no change......
 
  #5  
Old 10-16-09, 08:22 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the pilot is lit but the main burner wont turn on, most likely the pilot burner needs to be taken apart and the pilot burner and pilot orifice cleaned.

To get access to the pilot orifice you must remove the brass ferrule at the bottom of the pilot burner that holds the pilot tubing in place.
 
  #6  
Old 10-16-09, 09:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by SeattlePioneer View Post
If the pilot is lit but the main burner wont turn on, most likely the pilot burner needs to be taken apart and the pilot burner and pilot orifice cleaned.

To get access to the pilot orifice you must remove the brass ferrule at the bottom of the pilot burner that holds the pilot tubing in place.
Thanks!

I was thinking along that line since it is very rusty/dirty. All the burners are also covered in a thin layer of rust/dirt and a bunch biult up under the burners. .

I did call my LL but he cant get anyone until tomorrow, figured as much. Guess we'll tuff it out if I dont get it goin.
 
  #7  
Old 10-16-09, 10:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Hey thanks again for the tip SeattlePioneer !!

I knocked off some dust on the pilot area and pushed the white pin button and the burner fired right up!

Now lets see how long it runs... lol
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: