Janitrol- Wierd Burner Problem

Old 10-27-09, 11:21 PM
L
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Janitrol- Wierd Burner Problem

Hello,
I have an old Goodman gas furnace, model GUN075-3, serial# 90109864, I'd tell you the year but Im not positive on if I could tell by the serial# or not.
The furnace hasn't been ran in over 4 years, I had some techs from an HVAC company come out several weeks ago and give a quick look at it to see if it was worthy or running or not. Without having gas running to it yet, they found that the only thing needed was the transformer replaced. No problem Im an electronic tech by trade.
After changing that I had a friend also a heating and cooling school grad come over and we pulled the burners out and gave them a quick cleaning along with the ignitor and replaced them. Fired it up for the first time, everything seemed to be working, pilot lit, burners lit, fans working.
The problem I'm having is that the last burner, after several minutes, the flame goes from looking good, to orangish and the flame starts to come toward the manifold slowly. After 10-15 trys we both arent sure whats causing this. Either a clogged orifice on the manifold or possibly an air leak. I wasnt sure of the proper way to clean the manifold orifice but I used a piece of wire to make sure it was clear. My father in law who had installed the furnace had used 2" PVC for the exaust now says I need 3" coming out of the furnace and thinks that might have something to do with the wandering flame.
Any help would be appreciated.

Old 10-28-09, 12:07 AM
L
My father-in-law mentioned to my wife that there was suposed to be a "baffle" as he called it somewhere above the burners that he hadn't reinstalled, that might have been thrown away by my wife accidently. Its too late tonight but Im not sure what this piece is since I didnt remove it, but he had said that it had to be put back on tho work correctly. Any clues on what that might be?

Old 10-28-09, 03:32 PM
L