Carrier burners don't ignite


  #1  
Old 12-20-09, 08:06 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: US of A
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Carrier burners don't ignite

I have a 1986 Carrier Upflow Gas-Fired Natural-Draft Furnace, Model number 58GP050-BA Series 100. Some other notes is that I have a White Rodgers Digital Comfort Set II thermostat, a Honeywell Model VR 800A gas valve, and it is a match-lit pilot with natural gas.

When the thermostat calls for heat the blower turns on but the burners never ignite resulting in cool air being recycled thru the condo. Sometimes after about 10-15 minutes the aux light on the thermo turns on and then the burners ignite.

I do not get 24v to the gas valve until the aux kicks on.

Thanks in advance, Ben
 
  #2  
Old 12-20-09, 09:34 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,537
Received 38 Votes on 34 Posts
This is a thermostat problem.
Sounds like it's in heatpump mode.
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-09, 10:23 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,537
Received 38 Votes on 34 Posts
Verify that toggle 1 is On, 2 & 3 are Off.

 
  #4  
Old 12-20-09, 01:10 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: US of A
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My thermostat is type 1F92-71 (white-rodgers) dipswitches 1 2 and 3 are all off 4 is on
 
  #5  
Old 12-20-09, 01:54 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
Thermostat manuals

Here is the installation manual for your stat: White-Rodgers - Thermostats, CSII Features

And the owner's manual: http://www.white-rodgers.com/wrdhom/...037_4741_C.pdf
 
  #6  
Old 12-20-09, 02:20 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: US of A
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for the manual. unfortunately it couldn't help me out. changing the dipswithes didn't help either. i put them back to the original settings 1 2 and 3 off 4 on

could the thermostat be malfunctioned? and is there a way to test if it is bad.

i am still not sure why i do not get 24v at the gas valve when the thermo calls for heat. any ideas?
 
  #7  
Old 12-20-09, 02:51 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
Back to basics

Is this furnace connected to a heat pump as the first stage heat? If it is, you might be able to set the thermostat for "emergency heat". By doing so, it should bring on the furnace as soon as there is a call for heat.
 
  #8  
Old 12-20-09, 03:52 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,537
Received 38 Votes on 34 Posts
What is the outdoor unit model number?

 
  #9  
Old 12-20-09, 06:17 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: US of A
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not sure about the outside unit number, jersey got about 18 inches of the white stuff today. I will check it out in the morning.

How would one go about setting the thermostat to "emergency heat mode"

thanks again
 
  #10  
Old 12-21-09, 05:05 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: US of A
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how much would i be looking to spend if i was to replace the board? i believe it is an electrical problem because now i am never getting 24v to the gas valve. are the relays part of the circuit board of can they plug and play?

thanks
 
  #11  
Old 12-21-09, 05:27 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
Emer. Heat

Pages 8-10 of the owners manual should allow you to get into the emer. heat mode.
We are all presuming you have a heat pump with gas as aux. heat. Please verify. A fairly easy way would be to remove the thermostat face & list to which terminals the various color wires are connected. For example if you only have 5 wires & none are connected to a termial marked O or B, it's almost certain you don't have a heat pump.
 
  #12  
Old 12-21-09, 06:39 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose,Ca
Posts: 1,573
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
What am I missing?? I don't see that heat pump ever mentioned, except for the tstat.

oops just read Grady's last post
 
  #13  
Old 12-21-09, 08:37 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: US of A
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thermo

This is how my stat is wired
O-Black W1- jumper to Y1
B-X E1- jumper to W2
Y1-yellow & jumper to W1 E2-X
Y2-X L-X
C-Blue R-X
G-Green W2-white & jumper to E1



I am new to learning how a furnace works. What exactly is the heat pump, and is it possible to heat the house with just heat pump coils and not have the burners ignite?
 
  #14  
Old 12-22-09, 04:45 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
I'm Lost

Jammin', from your description I can't tell what wire is connected to which terminal. What I was looking for is something like:
White wire connected to W1 with jumper to ...
Yellow wire connected to Y1 with jumper to...
Green wire connected to G
etc, etc,

Thanks
 
  #15  
Old 12-22-09, 07:44 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: US of A
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry about that, the terminations looked to make sense in the reply but got all smushed when it was posted.

Black wire goes to O
yellow wire goes to Y1 with a jumper to W1
blue wire goes to C
green wire goes to G
red wire goes to R
white wire goes to W2 with a jumper to E1
 
  #16  
Old 12-23-09, 01:49 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: US of A
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not sure if it helps but the heat pump model number is 38YH018300, Carrier as well

The burners dont come on at all any more, not even in Emergency Mode
 
  #17  
Old 12-23-09, 04:39 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Regarding your thermostat wiring: Did your problem result right after installing a new thermostat?, or not?
 
  #18  
Old 12-23-09, 07:17 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
Have to defer

I'm going to have to defer this thread to some of my Carrier accessable colleagues. My dear friends at Carrier don't seem to want to allow me to have access to technical information on their products.
 
  #19  
Old 12-23-09, 08:51 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: US of A
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ecman the thermostat is the original from when the condo was built, the wiring has not changed since i moved in about two years ago.

Thanks for the help Grady.

If the heat pump is broken and i switch the thermostat to emergency mode, shouldn't the burners ignite to provide heat?

Does any one know what i would be looking to spend on a new circuit board?
 
  #20  
Old 12-26-09, 11:20 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: US of A
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Still no heat on emergency mode. Anything else i could do or check for?
 
  #21  
Old 12-26-09, 04:49 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This post probably belongs in the heat pump forum here.

I don't think anybody here knows off the top of their head what chain of events takes place when the HP can't produce or keep up with the low temps, and has to go to emergency/aux. gas heat. There are bound to be sensors and relays - that unless one saw a wiring diagram, could only speculate on, unless one has enough experience in this department.

Is there a schematic on say the blower door or elsewhere that you could try to take a pic of and post for us here?

And then there is the issue that if the low temps are not why the HP is not doing it's normal job, that perhaps the outside unit is not doing it's job, and needs to be looked at. Is that unit outside even running when you create a call for heat?

What IS your outside temp ther right now and /or when you first had trouble with the emergency heat not coming on anymore? We know that it did in your first post, but then later post said it no longer would. Did the outside get colder when you noticed that emergency heat would no longer come on? Or - could it even have gotten warmer out. Just guessing, but maybe if it got warmer, the emergency heat will not come on and must run conventional HP mode. And if something is wrong in the inside or outside units, you would be SOL. Not sure though if that be the case. Just a possible theory that could explain why you no longer get emergency heat.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: