open high Limit


  #1  
Old 12-26-09, 09:54 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
open high Limit

I have a Goodman/Amana Distinctions model# gds80703axbc. I know that I should have changed the filter. That part was my bad. I would like to know if there is a way to fix this myself. I have very very limited knowledge, but i am mechanically inclined and take direction. I did call a technician in the past and it was the exact same issue. This furnace was put in June of 2008. Thank you in advance for any help you may offer. I see this is a regular topic of conversation, but couldn't get the specific directions i require from the other posts. I have the 4 blinking lights which indicate the open high limit, problem, btw. LOL
 

Last edited by Sir E-O; 12-26-09 at 10:10 AM.
  #2  
Old 12-26-09, 04:11 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the main high temperature limit switch open, the burners are shut off and the fan continues to run to cool off the furnace heat exchangers. When they cool off, the limit switch closes again and the burners switch back on.

So if that's the problem, you usually observe that cycle of the burners turning on and off periodically and the fan staying on.

Replace the filter or otherwise solve the problem and the furnace starts working normally again on it's own.

Does that sound like what is happening to you? If not, what is happening?
 
  #3  
Old 12-27-09, 06:41 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, lets see....i will give you as many details as i can to help. The furnace is in a small closet located in the middle of my home. The following is the path from beginning to end for what I do to start it. I open the gas line. I then turn on the main power switch for the furnace. Next, I turn the power on located on the thermostat. Finally, I turn the thermostat up to the desired heat level, which is 71. The igniters light, then the furnace, instantly begins it's cycle, but when it begin the cycle, the flame is expunged. Thus, blowing cold air out of the registers.

I only have one duct closed off, in the entire house.

My guess is there is a way to reset the system from the board. I do, however assume that i am wrong, lol. I don't know anything about furnaces. We just purchased this home in August. This is our first home.

Once, again, thank you.
 
  #4  
Old 12-27-09, 07:58 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 80
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How long (time interval) from when burners light, until they extinguish?
 
  #5  
Old 12-27-09, 08:07 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
about 1-3 seconds between the lighting of the burners, sorry i used the wrong term i didn't mean igniters, i meant burners. my inexperience here is astronomical, thanks for everyone's patience.
 
  #6  
Old 12-27-09, 08:35 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Sir E-O View Post
The igniters light, then the furnace, instantly begins it's cycle, but when it begin the cycle, the flame is expunged. Thus, blowing cold air out of the registers.


Does it repeat this lighting cycle over and over if you keep the thermostat turned up? Or does it go through this cycle only once, and if so what happens then?

And does the fan that circulates air around the house stay on indefinitely, or does it shut off?
 
  #7  
Old 12-27-09, 09:30 AM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What started in OP as a code for high limit and it's symptoms, now seems like possibly flame sensor related, since a furnace is not going to high limit in 1 -3 seconds. Possible unrelated multiple issues going on here.

Other areas of possible investigation with only a 1-3 second flame is - the thermostat, only if inducer goes out also, - or roll out switch - or pressure switch.
 
  #8  
Old 01-02-10, 03:34 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: michigan
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
york diamond 80

g cold air and i checked the heater and the light was blinking 4 times.which is the open high limit switches.i called a tech and he tested everything and he said to buy 5 switches because the were all bad.after he left i checked again and the light was blinking 5 times.so now its the open roll out switch that needs fixing.so where can i find the switch and exactly how can i fix it?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: