Goodman Gas Furnace Troubleshooting


  #1  
Old 12-26-09, 10:06 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goodman Gas Furnace Troubleshooting

Hello,

My trusty Goodman Gas Furnace is having an issue. I am trying to troubleshoot it. If it something simple like recycle a switch or Thermostat. I can do that. If not then the professional will be called on Monday.

I have 2 units. The unit upstairs is a 92 % efficient furnace. The furnace itself is located in the attic.

From the the T-stat, I send a request for heat and nothing happens. I turn on the fan and the fan blows and A/C and that will even come on. Just not heat.

I went to the attic where I looked at the circuit board and the light on the board is solid red (no blinking). I have turned off the unit at the electrical box and let it sit for 10 minutes. Still nothing. The one thing that bothers me is there is a good amount of condensation or under the unit. The unit itself is turned sideways because of the height of the attic space.

Any suggestions ?

Thanks,

Patrick
 
  #2  
Old 12-26-09, 10:38 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great News! The DIY Forum must have scared the furnace into working!

The upstairs and downstairs units have the same thermostat model number. They are both electronic. I just took the unit from downstairs to upstairs and plug it in and it started to turn on the heat. Yeah !

So, at worse I have to get a new T stat or at best I am replacing 2 AA batteries and cleaning some terminals.

Thanks for having this forum available !
 
  #3  
Old 12-26-09, 05:04 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The only way you will know for sure though is to switch the stat out yet again, back to it's original location, to see if it goes back to not working. Often coincidences happen when you shut off the furnace and change something. I have gotten so used to these coincidence things that I actually plan my diagnostics with those things in mind. Something is always trying to fool you.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: