Beckett only runs for 20-30 seconds


  #1  
Old 12-30-09, 02:23 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Beckett only runs for 20-30 seconds

Hi I have a beckett furnace which worked great until one day the furnace didn't turn on. I went to the basement and saw the red light glowing so I pressed the reset button in hopes that it will start up again.

It kicked in and i could hear the motor running for couple of seconds. Then in 5-10 seconds I heard it attempt to light the flame. I just saw yellow light come for a second and then go outright away. It does that 3-4 times before completely shutting off and giving me the red solid light again.

I didn't run out of oil and my oil tank has 3/4s of oil in it so its not that. The mottor DOES sound a bit strange as if there is some rattling of some sort inside but I'm not 100% sure it wasn't there before. I did clean the flame sensor like suggested in other thread I read but it didn't solve my problem.

Its a beckett with honeywell
 
  #2  
Old 12-30-09, 10:25 AM
Skip4661's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 297
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
May have a bad pump, or transformer, or nozzle, or electrode, or filter or a number of other things. Best to get in contact with your oil supplier, they usually have decent techs.
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-09, 05:01 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
Beckett

How about some furnace specifics please. Make & model would be a good start.

I'm not familiar with any Honeywell controls with different color lights. Can you provide the model number of the control?
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-09, 05:15 PM
plumbingods's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manch-vegas, New Hampshire
Posts: 2,180
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Without knowing more, I cannot be positive, but from the description you gave, I would say it sounds like the burner coupling is worn out. Sounds like it is trying to light but is not getting steady fuel. If a rattling or funny noise is coming from the burner area, that would be the place to start. The part is less than 20.00 and can be bought brand specific with the correct info or can be bought as a universal coupling and cut to fit. You will need to remove the motor on the burner to check and replace this item. There are two specific plastic caps on each end of the coupling that are shaft specific and connected to the coupling with a spline type system, The spline is what will strip out over time causing the problem you have described.
 
  #5  
Old 12-31-09, 04:18 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
took it apart this morning and coupling was fine. the smoke appearently came from inside the furnace and not the motor itself. im on my phone right now and im looking at it. im not sure if this is the model number but it says

Oil Burner No. ad-672871
 
  #6  
Old 12-31-09, 04:55 AM
plumbingods's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manch-vegas, New Hampshire
Posts: 2,180
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The smoke is caused from unburnt fuel. I doubt you are having an ignition or electrical problem as you mentioned a spot showing of yellow flame. That leave the problem to be either oil delivery or air fuel mixture. If the burner coupling is good you need to check and recheck your filters, strainer, nozzle.
 
  #7  
Old 12-31-09, 05:56 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well before I put everything back the way it was I tried to blow through all of the oil pipes to see if air can go through them. Everything went no problem so I put it back in.

I turned all the oil switches on and made sure the is no air in them and started the heater back up. This time there was no rattling at all but also no yellow light from the inside.

I checked to see if there is an electric spark by lifting that black box and it was there. I'm driving up to home depot right now going to pick up some of the filters so I can replace them and maybe buy a brand new honeywell box.
 
  #8  
Old 12-31-09, 08:18 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Alright I did what you recommended cleaned everything out, changed the honeywell box turned on the furnace again and low and behold it started up.

However the joy didn't last for too long

It seems to be putting out a lot of smoke and after 40 or so seconds of burning it just shuts off. I can start it up again and it will work a bit more but then shut off again.

Everytime it turns on there is a constant stream of smoke coming from it. Should I just give up with it and call a technician?

Thanks for all your help cheers
 
  #9  
Old 12-31-09, 02:42 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
Furnace make & model

It may be as simple as an air adjustment. If you can provide the make & model of the furnace (not burner), we can likely tell you where the air settings on the burner should be.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: