Convert from Oil Air to Gas Air Furnace

Old 01-03-10, 07:41 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Convert from Oil Air to Gas Air Furnace

Hello, I am in the process of buying a house and should close in a couple of weeks. Please bare with me since I am a complete noob and will ask many silly questions. The house is in great shape, however, the first thing on my agenda is to replace the 30 or so year old oil furnace with a gas one. The gas piping is already ran in the basement, so the gas company should have no problem connecting it from the main. My question is what would be a good quote for an energy efficient, star compliant furnace? Which brand and model number offers quality and the best bang for a buck? What would be done with an oil tank, oil itself? I would like to add a central A/C as well, what would be a good, star compliant unit? The house is a little over 1,100 SQ feet.

I also have a little idea on what to do with an electric tank water heater. Would it be possible to slap a few solar panels on the roof, a battery storage in the basement and hook it up to the water heater or this is not as easy as it seems? Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-04-10, 07:16 AM
You can call a few dealer and have them look at your home and give you a quote. A good install will make any brand a good brand. If they do a bad install, then the "high end' brand will not last like it should.

Important thing they NEED to do on YOUR home is.
-Manual J (load calac)
-Ductwork sizing to handle A/C

Just a shot out of the dark, I'd say furnace may fall in the 60k range, and A/C in the 2 tons zone.

For comfort and energy savings, is the 90% furnace with two stage burner and variable speed blower. For more savings, maybe a Heat Pump (Duel Fuel)

These are the brand I suggest.

-Trane XC95m (3 stage)
-Carrier Infinity (3 stage)
-Rheem Modulating (13 stage)
-York Modulating (I think 25 stages)

As for the tank, your local dealer will have to give you the answer since code may vary from here.