Suburban Dynatrail Gas Furnace

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-07-10, 02:56 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Suburban Dynatrail Gas Furnace

I have a year old furnace. I ran it the other night to warm up my camper, than turned down the thermostat when it got warm enough. Now it won't come back on unless I shut the thermostat all the way to "off" and then turn it on. Than the fan runs for 30-45 seconds and shuts the unit off. I have gas and tried replacing the thermostat. I'm wheels up, so I can't take it in to be serviced hoping it's something I can handle. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-07-10, 03:14 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is this a propane furnace in a camper and is the outdoor temperature very cold?
 
  #3  
Old 01-07-10, 03:21 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes it is.... and just so you know i confirmed the regulator was not froozen. i was able to light the stove burners no problem, while the heaters still wouldn't light....
 
  #4  
Old 01-07-10, 05:08 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose,Ca
Posts: 1,561
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
You might try lookingat the sail switch, as you already know, the fan comes on as soon as you energize the thermostat. And then the air movement from the motor closes a sail switch which allows the gas valve to open. There maybe something that is blocking the sail switch. I'm going from an old memory on how the rv model furnaces work, I may be incorrect.
 
  #5  
Old 01-07-10, 05:46 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In morder to get gas to burn, the liquid propane must boil, which takes a good deal of energy, just as it takes a lot of energy to boile water into steam.

With small propane tanks, the liquid propane can get too cold for that to happen. That could starve appliances for gas to operate.

However, if the range burners are operating normally when the furnace is failing to light, that's probably not the problem.


Never mind.
 
  #6  
Old 01-07-10, 06:44 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i'm also using 100lb tanks... thanks for any and all input..
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: