Trane XE80 - Lighting Problems

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-08-10, 06:16 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane XE80 - Lighting Problems

I've been having some problems with my Trane XE80 that was installed around 1995. Originally, it was with the flames staying lit. After some research, I found that I should sand off the flame detector unit.

Pic inside the panel so you can see what I see (click the link):

xe80_panel on Flickr - Photo Sharing!


I thought that the part labeled as 1 was what needed some sanding on the stainless steel metal part - i did this and realized I was wrong wrong.

I then realized it was part 2 that needed the sanding as it was the flame detector... I did this, then the furnace fired up and ran for a couple days.

I wake up today, and the flames are off again. I reset the breaker, but now the hot surface igniter isn't lighting up...

Pics of the unit (click the links):
hot surface ignitor - side A on Flickr - Photo Sharing!


hot surface ignitor - side B on Flickr - Photo Sharing!


To my uneducated eyes, It doesn't look like this unit is bad. But I'm fearful I may have done something wrong and created this new problem.

Now, the furnace runs through this process once the breaker is turned back on:

1) Calls for heat (fast flashing light code)
2) Where the hot surface igniter is normally heating up, there is nothing going on now
3) Audible CLICK and Gas is opened - attempting to light
4) Lighting fails and closes the gas (hot surface igniter is not glowing)
5) retries to light twice more
6) fails to light, and enters a System Lockout (two flashes light code).




Any ideas?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-08-10, 07:16 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It looks to me like there is a crack on the HSI, but the resolution of the picture isn't good enough to say for sure.


If you have a multimeter, check for an open circuit across the wires to the igniter. If it's an open circuit, it's definitely bad.

As a double check, measure the voltage being applied to the HSI. If you have 120 VAC being applied to the igniter and it fails to light, it needs to be replaced.

I'd get a spare igniter to have on hand for the future.
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-10, 07:34 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Funny!

I just recalled that I had a multimeter so I went and checked and was just coming up to post my findings.

When I would expect the HSI to light, I could indeed verify I had 120volts (~122) coming in and then watched it drop off again when it should have lit the furnace.

It's definitely the HSI now. Must have jarred it when working on it before....

Thanks !!!
 
  #4  
Old 01-08-10, 11:50 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replaced the HSI - all is well! Somehow must have jarred it and made it crack when I was working on the flame detector!!

Ah, well... All is right in the world again!

:Beer 4U2:
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: