Temperature never reaches set point--we're cold!!!!


  #1  
Old 02-03-10, 02:20 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Temperature never reaches set point--we're cold!!!!

We have a Coleman Evcon Oil Furnace Model #BOM12516D. We have the thermostat set on 68 degrees but the blower blows all the time, burners on 1 and a half min. the off for 7.75 min. The temp. only goes up to about 62 degrees. We have no manual, can anyone help???
 
  #2  
Old 02-03-10, 05:38 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brantford Ontario Canada
Posts: 103
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mickey12560
We have a Coleman Evcon Oil Furnace Model #BOM12516D. We have the thermostat set on 68 degrees but the blower blows all the time, burners on 1 and a half min. the off for 7.75 min. The temp. only goes up to about 62 degrees. We have no manual, can anyone help???
Check for a plugged air filter to start. Do you have air conditioning?
 
  #3  
Old 02-03-10, 10:08 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Still Cold!!

Originally Posted by pfd27
Check for a plugged air filter to start. Do you have air conditioning?
We put in new air filter before starting furnace. Yes we have an air conditioner--central air.
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-10, 07:19 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
If you want to repair your furnace, you actually have to DO the checks and tests suggested.

It was suggested that you CHECK the filter. You didn't do that.

You should CHECK the filter to see if it's plugged with dust and junk, or if there are multiple filters. If everything looks OK, remove the filter altogether and operate the furnace to see if the problem persists.

Bad filters cause the problem you describe about 70% of the time, so it pays to check the problem carefully.
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-10, 01:54 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brantford Ontario Canada
Posts: 103
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mickey12560

We put in new air filter before starting furnace. Yes we have an air conditioner--central air.

Check the temperature of the supply plenum when the burner shuts down. Is it overly hot?
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-10, 04:00 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,826
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
??? How can the temp be going up to 62, when you say it is set to 68?

In actuality, is the temp continuing to drop from 68? Or did you have the stat set way back to like 55, and have tried ramping the temp back up(to 68) and it only gets to 62 and that's it? Or, the furnace malfunctioned while set to 68, and the temp dropped, below 62, and then after it ran again, it has built up slowly to where it gets to about 62 and that is it?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: