Is it time for a new boiler?


  #1  
Old 02-11-10, 10:24 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Is it time for a new boiler?

My Burnham oil boiler wouldnt light up so I figured I would replace the nozzle. Upon opening it up I saw that some of the insulation from inside had collapsed onto the nozzle area. Im assuming thats why it wouldnt fire up. Before opening it after trying to run it a couple of times there was fire on the nozzle but I had power and electricity shut off at the time and it burned for a few minutes. I mostly heat with wood and only really use the oil during the night. The boiler was put in in 95 I think

any input would be great
 
  #2  
Old 02-11-10, 10:42 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I'd have it serviced by a competent oil guy. Replacing it is very likely not needed.
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-10, 10:47 AM
esalman's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 178
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Is the CAD cell clean?

Beer 4U2
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-10, 04:31 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Im thinking the insulation that collapsed is from the swing door. Im hoping I can repair it. Anybody know where I can get gaskets and stuff online?

Im thinking of getting a Combustion Chamber Kits. Would I need anything else?
 

Last edited by jsepps; 02-11-10 at 04:53 PM.
  #5  
Old 02-11-10, 05:25 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Combustion Chamber Kit

One of these might be what you are looking for:

Patriot Supply -
 
  #6  
Old 02-11-10, 05:30 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Grady
One of these might be what you are looking for:

Patriot Supply -
Thanks, do you know if the gaskets come with or are seperate?
 
  #7  
Old 02-11-10, 05:34 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Gaskets?

If you mean the rope door gasket, it is usually separate. You would need to measure the size of the groove & order the proper size kaowool rope gasket material. If you call them I'm pretty sure the folks at Patriot could help you out.
 
  #8  
Old 02-12-10, 08:46 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I ordered the kit, it should be here soon


What can I do to prepare the boiler for this installation?

Also when should I replace electrodes?
 
  #9  
Old 02-12-10, 07:18 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Prep

I wouldn't do anything until you are sure it is the correct kit. When removing the old chamber be sure to wear at least a dust mask. You should also have a vacuum cleaner with a good (preferably HEPA) filter & plastic trash bags for the old chamber.

Ideally the electrodes should be replaced when they no longer have a pencil point but if you have intermittent ignition (ignition stays on the whole time the burner is firing) you will end up replacing the electrodes at least every year. As far as I'm concerned, that's a waste. I've seen 30 year old burners with the original electrodes & they still work fine.
 
  #10  
Old 02-13-10, 06:10 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I understand what your saying Grady about not doing anything till I make sure its the right kit. Either way the boiler is not working now and Im heating with wood so I would like to get a head start for when I do get the kit, even if I have to send this one back. They assured me its the right one
 
  #11  
Old 02-13-10, 11:50 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Boiler Down

I forgot the boiler was down. Go ahead & remove any of the insulation you intend to replace. Wire brush all surfaces until clean. You may have to hit the surfaces again lightly but the worst will be done.
 
  #12  
Old 02-16-10, 05:18 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Got it all back together

New nozzle and electrodes as well

What else should I do to get it running properly? It fires up nice and seems to be running great but Im wondering what other adjustments I need to make to be sure?


Are there any good guides for a Beckett AFG?

What color should my flame be? And how big?
 
  #13  
Old 02-16-10, 05:27 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Flame adjustment

You cannot adjust the flame on a modern burner by eye. It must be done with instruments.

If you will supply the full model number of the boiler, I can probably get the factory specs for you.
 
  #14  
Old 02-16-10, 05:34 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The Burnham boiler model # is PV73WC

I would rather pay to buy some tools and learn how to do this myself rather than pay for someone to do it if its possible
 
  #15  
Old 02-16-10, 06:20 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Factory Burner Settings

Nozzle: .85x80 'B' (Hago [prefered] or Delavan)
Pump pressure: 140 psi
Air Band Setting: "1" (Note: Requires a 2 slot air band)
Air Shutter Setting: "7"

Test equipment for setting up an oil burner is not cheap. At a very minimum you will need a smoke tester aka "smoke pump" or "smoke gun", draft gauge (must read positive & negative in 1/100 inches of water column), CO2 (or O2) tester, & a stack thermometer.
You might find some thing on e-bay. Do a search for "combustion analyzers", "combustion test equipment", or something similar or one manufacturer of such equipment is "Bacharach".
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: