Carrier 58CTA110 not firing


  #1  
Old 02-12-10, 07:47 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 21
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Carrier 58CTA110 not firing

Hi, I have a carrier 58CTA110 that is not firing. Working fine until this am when it wont fire...LED is constant on indicating power. The blower fires on manually using a switch.

Tried resetting the furnace/turned gas switch off/on and nothing.

Replaced the batteries in the thermostat.

Turning power on to furnace and I hear a click in the furnace.

Any suggestions?

thanks,
Derek
 
  #2  
Old 02-12-10, 08:05 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I would be suspicious that the thermostat isn't turning the furnace on. Is the thermostat turned to the "heat" position?


You may need to use a wire to jumper from the R contact to the W or W1 contact to bypass the thermostat and see if the furnace will turn on.
 
  #3  
Old 02-12-10, 08:38 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 21
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Okay. will try later on today...off site until afternoon. thx
 
  #4  
Old 02-12-10, 05:11 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 21
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
ruled out the thermostat/jumped the wires and no luck. was able to run the test cycle successfully

i supposed the sensors could be gone. any other checks besides the sensors?
 
  #5  
Old 02-12-10, 05:16 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,826
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Also see if you have a burned out 3 amp fuse.

Actually take a voltmeter and test to see if you have 24 volts from R terminal (on the furnace's thermostat power strip) to C(common, and do same test as suggested from W to C (common). If you pass that last test, that means you have 120 volts and 24 volts and power is passing through the stat and returning to the furnace as it should.

And also see if you have any small little electrical devices on the furnace inside the panel where there are a couple wires connected to it with a resettable pin in the miiddle. Press any such pin and see if you get a click, which would indicate it was tripped, and you just reset it.(Then you could start the furnace, after resetting, by turning it off, then back on.)

Also, see if you have a 3-wire pressure switch. These type require the vacuum diaphram plunger to slide back from the NO (normally open) positon back to the NC (normally closed) position at the end of the last cycle. If that plunger does not go back to NC, the furnace will be deader than a doornail. You can jumper from the contacts on that pressure switch from NC to C terminals to see if it then starts up.

Another issue could be a dead inducer motor. You can test for that with a meter, a couple different ways.

Another problem could be that the relay that turns your 24 volts to 120 volts to run the inducer is shot. If that is the problem, and that relay is on the board, you invariably have to unfortunately replace the board.

You can also physically check with a volt meter to see if anywhere along your 24 volt safety circuit, that it has gone dead.

And you can unplug wire connections and jacks and replug them back on to ensure good connections.
 
  #6  
Old 02-12-10, 05:46 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
The LED being lit implies that 24 VAC power is present and that any low voltage fuse is OK....
 
  #7  
Old 02-13-10, 02:50 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc...t/58ct-6si.pdf


Have you tried to initiate a component test as described in page 44 of the manual?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: