Bryant 574A Furnace/Air condition combo


  #1  
Old 02-27-10, 07:15 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Bryant 574A Furnace/Air condition combo

Both the blower and the induced draft motor comes on but no flame. I get a 6 flash code (induced-draft motor fault). Help
 
  #2  
Old 02-27-10, 07:44 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,526
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
The most common inducer problem I see with that unit is the inducer blower wheel coming apart.
Do you feel exhaust blowing out of the flue hood?

http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc...it/om10-32.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 02-27-10, 07:58 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes blow fine good pressure. cold air out of vents in the house no flame at furnace. This system doesn't have a pressure switch. The owners manual says to clean the motor twice a year, never did..
 
  #4  
Old 02-27-10, 09:27 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,526
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
It does not use a pressure switch as you have stated. It uses a Hall Affect Sensor, HS on the diagram. (Which I have always called a Centrifugal Switch for some reason)

If motor is operating, check the speed
sensor plug/IGC Terminal J2 connection. Proper connection:
PIN 1— White
PIN 2 — Red
PIN 3 — Black.
 

Last edited by Houston204; 02-27-10 at 09:59 PM.
  #5  
Old 02-28-10, 12:38 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Plugged in the board proper. Do you think the HS is bad? There are 2 screws holding the HS on the back of the motor. Hopefully it's that HS and not the motor. save some $. The manual says to clean the motor 2 times a year but I never did. Never heard of such a thing. Also this unit is only 3 years old.
 
  #6  
Old 02-28-10, 10:20 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,526
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
574A SPP Description

Looks like you have a 5 year warranty on parts. You will probably need to use a Bryant/Carrier contractor though.
 
  #7  
Old 02-28-10, 11:18 AM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,826
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Clinton115
The manual says to clean the motor 2 times a year but I never did. Never heard of such a thing.
Probably ranks right up there with people removing, inspecting, and/or replacing anode rods in ther water heaters.
 
  #8  
Old 02-28-10, 12:10 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Originally Posted by ecman51`
Probably ranks right up there with people removing, inspecting, and/or replacing anode rods in ther water heaters.

There's no point in inspecting or replacing the anode rod unless you want to significantly extend the life of the water heater.

My gas water heater was built in 1987, and I replaced the deteriorated anode rod eight or ten years ago ---- still no leaks.

Of course the prevailing sentiment seems to be don't do maintenance of water heaters and plan to replace them every 10-12 years or so.

Take your pick, I suppose.

Of course, as a gas appliance repairman myself, the costs of doing such maintenance are low.
 
  #9  
Old 02-28-10, 02:12 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'm talking about a furnace not hot water..Should I change the HS?? Do those go bad?? The motor seems fine. Might even be the board giving a false error. I can only think of 3 things The motor,Hall effect sensor or the board. How can I jumper the sensor out??
 

Last edited by Clinton115; 02-28-10 at 04:22 PM.
  #10  
Old 03-01-10, 03:12 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

It was the Hall Effect Sensor. HS on the board. Thanks Houston for your help you were right..
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: