Why wont my heating temp rise?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-21-10, 08:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 86
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Why wont my heating temp rise?

Hi all,

I am hoping that someone can help me with my heating issue. The system is set to the high 70's, but the room temp wont rise above what seems to be the ambient temperature.

I have attached an image to show what's happening - nothing changes from what you see on the display.

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks.

Hugh

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-21-10, 03:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brantford Ontario Canada
Posts: 117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is this something that just happened or is it on going? Is the air filter clean?
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-10, 04:22 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Hugh....is the furnace even kicking on? I know the stat shows that it is..but is there warm air blowing out the vents?

We need a little more info to be able to try and direct you .....
 
  #4  
Old 04-23-10, 02:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 86
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Gunguy45 View Post
Hugh....is the furnace even kicking on? I know the stat shows that it is..but is there warm air blowing out the vents?

We need a little more info to be able to try and direct you .....

Hi,

sorry, did not know there was replies.

The furnace is blowing air through the vents, but it's pretty tepid in temp. I switched the furnace off, then on, and it seemed to work just fine. But then the problem reoccured.

There is plenty of hot water being produced. (I'm used to radiant heat systems in the U.K., so this is a little unknown to me)

Thanks for the help!
 
  #5  
Old 04-23-10, 03:01 PM
Beachboy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northeast Kansas
Posts: 752
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I presume you have a gas forced air furnace, so it is completely independent of your domestic hot water. If you could confirm if you have gas/oil/electric forced air heat or a heat pump, that would help.

Can you see if the burners in the furnace are lighting off when the thermostat calls for heat, and staying lit while the blower is operating?
 
  #6  
Old 04-23-10, 03:05 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
AHHHHHH...see..now we have a bit more info....

You talk about hot water...but you talk about hot air blowing through the vents..

You probably have a furnace (gas/oil/whatever)...and a separate water heater...so hot water is irrelevant. Do you know what kind of system you have? You could ask a neighbor...or look at utility bills and that can tell you.

You may need to change a filter..or have a simple tune-up done. Renting or owner?


As I said...information is the key...the more you give..the better the advice.
 
  #7  
Old 04-23-10, 05:44 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The picture of his thermostat is a big clue, right there.
 
  #8  
Old 04-23-10, 06:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 86
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok, it is a separate water heater, and the filter "should" be ok. I say that because the house was bought in December, and I had the ducts cleaned. The guy said that filter was an odd size and he had to make some modifications to it.

With the weekend upon us I will dig around some more.

Again, thanks!
 
  #9  
Old 04-23-10, 07:44 PM
mickblock's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Calumet Township, Indiana
Posts: 616
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by hugh71158 View Post
The guy said that filter was an odd size and he had to make some modifications to it.
Some "modifications to it?" Ha ha ha!!

Like what, fold it in half?


Is this a two stage furnace you have?
Post the name and model when you get a chance. That will help everyone.
The furnace is blowing air through the vents, but it's pretty tepid in temp. I switched the furnace off, then on, and it seemed to work just fine. But then the problem reoccured.
See this sounds key. But I'm no furnace expert so...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: