Heil gas furnace wont start

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-02-10, 12:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Heil gas furnace wont start

During the summer months , I use my furnace to blow cool
air , for my central air conditioner . The furnace no longer
starts are I turn on the central air , The central air is wired
to same wire block as the thermistat on the furnace electronic
control module, and air conditioner will start. If I switch to heat
mode nothing starts , while putting my hand on the control
module , I can detect a faint click when pressing the furnace
door switch. Brand is Heil NUG5100BHB2, 15 years old .
I would like help before replacing any parts ,
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-03-10, 06:42 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does the outside unit for the a/c work when you turn down the stat for cooling?

The inside unit and outside unit share commonality with the thermostat/low voltage(24 vac) system, but are run off separate high voltage circuits. The furnace will be on it's own (usually 15 amp) 120 vac breaker), and the outside unit will be on it's own 240 vac breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 06-04-10, 12:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heil furnace

Yes the outside unit for the a/c works when you turn down the stat for cooling, runs and able to hear fan and sound of
condenser running , breakers are all on
 
  #4  
Old 06-04-10, 08:48 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What happens if you try to just run the blower. by setting it to the fan ON setting. Will the blower run then?

Also, you say nothing works when you set it to HEAT. Not even the inducer fan comes on?

I'm trying to find where the common part is that can affect these various things.

We know you have 120 vac at furnace. We know you have transformer 24 vac. We know that you hav 24 volts at furnace low volt power strip giving 24 vac to terminal R. We know that wall thermostat is good enough to send R current back thru cooling wire Y. But we do not know anything else....yet.
 
  #5  
Old 06-05-10, 12:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heil furnace

Tried to run blower in fan mode also , no difference as setting
to Auto , furnace blower will not start , when in heat mode
nothing will run, I was told be another person that the exhaust
blower needs to start up before the furnace would light in heat
mode, but do not see that needed while using cool mode, The
furnace blower uses a capacitor to start , IF that Cap is bad
could that cause damage to the control board or stop other
functions from working ? I Think every thing points to that
electronic control but do not know how I could test it to be
sure ?
 
  #6  
Old 06-12-10, 04:42 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry. Been off the board for days due to heavy work load for me this time of year/no mood to talk more work here.

Chances are the blower motor shaft can't spin good enough due to bad bearings, or motor has a bad capacitor, or motor has bad windings or short. Or something gone awry on the board, or possibly a bad connector. Post back if you are checking in on the board.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: