gas furnace/water heater room ventilation

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-19-10, 06:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: cheverly, MD
Posts: 83
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
gas furnace/water heater room ventilation

My furnace & water heater are in a room apprx 8 X 12. regular dyrwall construction w/ interior door. (i think gravity fed hood furnace....???BTU's)

I've been told i should a install louver door or cut a hole in the drywall and install a metal louver vent to allow furnace to breath easier and avoid carbon dioxide build-up.

For 6 yrs the room has remained unchanged w/ a cabon dioxide detector in the room and its never gone off. I'm doing some work in the basement and feel if I should install a vent i should do it now.

does this sound like something i need to do??

thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-20-10, 12:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
Fuel needs air (specifically oxygen) to burn and if the fuel does not get enough air the products of combustion can be hazardous to health. From what you have described I would most definitely add venting/ductwork to the outside air to this room. The specifics are readily obtainable and they are based upon the total BTU rating of the gas-burning appliances. I can probably find some guidelines for you if needed.
 
  #3  
Old 06-20-10, 04:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: cheverly, MD
Posts: 83
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks.....i will add a vent
 
  #4  
Old 06-20-10, 05:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
I strongly urge you to read pages eight and nine of the linked pdf file.

http://www.dnmech.com/lit/io-554.pdf

Also read this link.

FIELD CONTROLS, LLC - CONTRACTOR PRODUCTS Combustion Air Systems
 
  #5  
Old 06-21-10, 01:21 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Code state a air intake equal to 1" square per 1000 input. ie: 100k input would need a 10 x 10 register installed.
Also most codes require 2 vents installed, one near the floor and one near the ceiling.
 
  #6  
Old 11-27-14, 08:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 559
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What if the heating appliance is high efficiency gas that uses exterior supplied intake and exhaust? Same guidelines apply?
 
  #7  
Old 11-27-14, 08:56 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,979
Received 8 Votes on 7 Posts
If the furnace uses outside air for combustion, you only need to be concerned with any other appliances (water heater, dryer, etc.) which may share combustion air from within the room.
 
  #8  
Old 11-28-14, 07:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 559
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Grady! Nothing else but electric water heater in the space.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: