GE old gas furnace not running


  #1  
Old 11-05-10, 09:05 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GE old gas furnace not running

Hello. mr bungles here. My old ge gas furnace stopped firing up. I have some very basic knowledge of testing things. I checked the stat, & no power at the red wire. I checked the transformer & it showed no voltage at the red thermostat wire connection. So I replaced the transformer. Powered it up, & still no voltage reading at the 24 volt lead that connects to the red thermostat wire. I checked the the new transformer 24 volt output at the two 24 volt terminals, by placing one of my 2 test leads on each of the 24 volt terminals at the same time. Testing in this manner shows 24 volt output from the new transformer. But when I try and test either one of the 24 volt output leads by themselfs, I get no reading? I think the ground I am using is good, as I can read high voltage using the same ground. My meter must be ok, as it reads the 24 volts testing the two 24 volt terminals together. So I did a resistence test from the red stat in the furnace to the white stat wire in the furnace. It tested good. I do not think there is any problem in the stat wires. I can not figure out why I have no power to my stat. I do not think my old transformer was bad. So it is getting cold here in the northeast now. I do not have the money for a new furnace right now. Please help! Thank you! mr bungles.
 
  #2  
Old 11-05-10, 02:26 PM
K
Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 66
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There could be a problem with the wire itself going to R from the transformer. Measure voltage from the transformer to the R terminal and if you read 24 then there's a break in the wire somewhere.
 
  #3  
Old 11-05-10, 04:38 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Could it be the furnace lost it's ground? Do you have a C (common) terminal on the low voltage terminal strip where you can test for 24 volts from R to C?, rather than from R to furnace chasis?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: