Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Gas and Oil Home Heating Furnaces
Reload this Page >

Winchester shuts off after a few minutes of heat blowing? Not real strong heat?

Old 11-06-10, 08:12 AM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Okay, here is the deal. I can post pics if needed. Im somewhat new to heaters so be easy on me.
Its a Winchester heating/AC blower unit. Working off of natural gas. I have a Hunter programmable electronic thermostat.
When i turned the heat on the other day, I only ran it for a couple of minutes to warm up the house in the morning just a bit. Shut it off~ Did it again the other day (only to run up the temp about 2 degrees then shut it off)~
This morning i decided to turn it on and let it run about 8 degrees up on the thermostat, but after about 15 minutes it shut off? Inside house temp was 61, thermostat set to 67? So, i switched the thermostat to off, then back onto heat. Kicked on and did the same thing.
So i looked online and found this site along with this thread
http://forum.doityourself.com/gas-oi...agnostics.html
I turned it back on and went to watch the light through the port hole. Turned green then went to a SLOW AMBER FLASH while the fan kicked on. I looked down the side of the unit where the gas line enters and looked through the slot and seen blue fire... Not huge flames or anything crazy, just like a small blue fire. Fan is blowing but still just a slow blinking amber light. Was blowing slightly warm from the vents, and the unit itself was warm. Then it shut off again(this is normally about 15min of running time), and it blinked a 4 Red code.... I checked that thread about the code. And it said i could have a dirty filter. So i pulled the filter, and its not really that bad???? Its a bit dirty but i replaced it near the end of summer and we havent really used the a/c or heat until now.