trouble shoot my comfortmaker heating & air condition unit


  #1  
Old 11-26-10, 11:43 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: riverside
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
trouble shoot my comfortmaker heating & air condition unit

How do I check my White Rodger ignition control module..? Type 50E 47-140
 
  #2  
Old 11-26-10, 11:46 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Take the cover off the burner compartment of your furnace.

Carefully observe the sequence of events that occurs when you turn the thermostat up, and report them here.

Also, report the model number of the furnace from the rating plate in the furnace burner compartment.
 
  #3  
Old 11-26-10, 11:47 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: riverside
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Do my ignition control module also control the A/C ..?
 
  #4  
Old 11-26-10, 11:52 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
On some furnaces the ignition control will turn on other equipment such as an AC compressor, humidifier and such. Often the thermostat switches on the AC.
 
  #5  
Old 11-26-10, 12:22 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: riverside
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I took that cover off and nothing happens when I turn the thermostat up....the model number of the furnace is #GUD080A16AIM....The model number on the ignition control module is Type 50E 47-140
 
  #6  
Old 11-26-10, 12:32 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 4,469
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Since nothing is happening, you need to start at the beginning.

Check to be sure that the breaker is turned on and the power switch at the furnace is on. Check to be sure that the fan compartment door is properly in place and depressing the door switch.

Do you have an AC voltmeter or multimeter? You are going to need to measure some voltages if that doesn't work.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: