York LX TM9V vs Amana AHM95

Old 12-01-10, 05:44 PM
W
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question York LX TM9V vs Amana AHM95

Hi everyone, newbie here (to the forum & been a handyman).

I have two offers on furnace replacement. a York LX TM9V, or a Amana AHM95. while the York is a bit more expensive than the Amana, the person doing the quote saying at long run, York one will save me enough $$ in about 4-5 yrs because it's variable-speed fan motor (ECM).

oh the York is 96% AFUE, and Amana is 95% (i don't think that really make much different for me with 1% between them).

so what are the pro & con of both?

any feedbacks from experts will be greatly appreciated.

V
-jd

Old 12-01-10, 06:58 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
The ECM is a nice feature since you can run the fan on a very low speed for constant air circulation which helps with temperature uniformity thruout the house. This is especially noticeable in multi-level homes. Other than that I don't know enough about either furnace to give an opinion.

I will tell you that a quality installation is more important than the equipment. Nobody makes junk but a lot of installers can turn a really nice furnace into a miserable piece of crap with a poor install.

Old 12-02-10, 08:38 AM
W
Thumbs up good point!

You are right, workmanship is equally important (if not more) than the equipment.

I got another offer now. so they are like these.

1. Lennux G61MP 36B-071. 95% AFUE
2. Amana AMH95. 95% AFUE
3. York LX TM9V (variable-speed motor/ECM motor). 96% AFUE.

my house is 1400 sf ranch style, in southeast Michigan.

Old 12-02-10, 08:56 AM
W
another thing is, how long/old are these models been out? does anyone got a figure (or place to look them up)? I can traced them to 2005-2006 for most models but not official date.

Old 12-02-10, 07:35 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
I don't know any history on these furnaces.