Trane XL14C not heating very well

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-06-10, 06:46 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane XL14C not heating very well

I have a Trane xlc14 that was installed this past spring. The unit just replaced a older unit and we used the existing duct work since it was good. my problem is now that winter has come and the outside temp is in the 20's the unit will not heat the house above 68 deg. It also runs all the time to keep it at this temp. There in no warm air coming out of the vent inside however the gas burnes seems to be running because the aire coming out of theexhaust vent on the side of the unit is slightly warm.
I have had the guy that put the unit in for me to come back and work on it but it seems no better .



Any ideas to what is wrong?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-06-10, 08:27 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'd call the dealer and ask for another Tech. Something is not set up right if this doing it. Is there a two stage stat being used on this unit?
 
  #3  
Old 12-06-10, 08:38 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree with Jay and call the service tech and have someone who know this set up and have to adjust it.

I think that sound like c'est a two stage unit and stuck in low heat mode unless they did not change the thermosat the same time which I wonding about that .

Merci.
Marc
 
  #4  
Old 12-07-10, 08:21 AM
Beachboy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northeast Kansas
Posts: 756
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Does the new furnace have a significantly lower BTUH output rating than your old furnace? It's possible the dealer/installer downsized the new furnace too much and it's insufficient to heat the house to an acceptable temperature. They should perform a Manual J heat load calculation to determine if it is adequately sized. Of course, as the other posters recommended, the installer should first check to see if the furnace is operating as designed.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: