Carrier 58PAV shutting off...... need help.


  #1  
Old 12-15-10, 08:50 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Carrier 58PAV shutting off...... need help.

I have a Carrier 58PAV... and here's what's happening. It sequences fine, Inducer fan comes on, pressure switch closes, ignitor glows, gas valve opens, flame ignites, flame sensor senses flam to keep it lit, then the circulation blower comes on. After about 5 minutes the inducer fan stops, flames go out, and I get a flashing red light code of 31- " Pressure Draft Safeguard, Auxiliary limit or Vent Clogged or Switch did not close or reopen"

Things I have done-
1. cleaned the flame sensor
2. Last year replaced the inducer motor
3. removed pressure switch hose- it's not plugged
4. looked up the exhaust vent- not clogged or blocked.

Could use some help, it's 58 degrees in here and not warming up outside anytime soon!

thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-15-10, 09:13 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Very likely the pressure switch is opening because of a defect in the venting system.

But you should use a multimeter to verify that the pressure switch is what is shutting off the burners.

You want to verify that for openers.


Your furnace manual is at

http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc...58p,r-13sm.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 12-15-10, 10:44 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you-
I did have my roof replaced this summer- is there something that could have happened to the venting system from being nudged or bumped during the re-roofing?

What other venting issues are possible?
 
  #4  
Old 12-15-10, 11:18 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
You need to start by checking to see if the pressure switch is opening.
 
  #5  
Old 12-16-10, 12:32 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I don't know how to tell if it is opening, but I did use a multimeter and it is getting power. How do I test if it is opening? This is new to me, so bare with me.
thanks-
ac
 
  #6  
Old 12-16-10, 12:46 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
If the pressure switch has two wires to it, you would find 24 VAC on both wires if the switch is closed and on only one wire if it is open.
 
  #7  
Old 12-16-10, 12:53 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I just reset the unit by turning the power off for a few minutes. After it cycled up and stopped, I was only getting a response from one of the wires, thus telling me the switch is staying open?
 
  #8  
Old 12-16-10, 01:22 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Presuming the inducer motor was running, yes.
 
  #9  
Old 12-16-10, 02:32 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Both were at equal voltage when the furnace is running, when the inducer is not running one hits, and the other is dead. Does that rule out the pressure switch?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: