Blower speeds and heat output

Old 12-22-10, 05:37 AM
L
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Blower speeds and heat output

We have a woodfurnace with a 4 speed direct drive blower. Normally we would have the blower set at high around 1400 cfms, but the air would be cooler. Lower fan speeds will increase the heat output at the register. What is more efficient and effective? A higher blower speed with cooler register temps or a lower blower speed with higher temps?

Sponsored Links
Old 12-23-10, 10:56 AM
L
Anyone have any ideas? I can't find anything about it online.

Old 12-23-10, 11:11 AM
S
blower speed

I'm no pro, but I would think that higher speed and lower temperature would not be very comfortable. I think a lower speed and higher temp would not feel so drafty. I do know that you have to be careful not to exceed the temperature rise specified for your unit. Too low fan speed increases temp rise.
Steve

Old 12-23-10, 03:13 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Sdodder is absolutely correct. Other downsides to a high blower speed are increased electrical usage & increased noise.

Old 12-23-10, 04:51 PM
L
I'll throw out one more thing. We have 10' ceilings both downstairs and upstairs. Having a lower blower speed, will the heat circulate properly? Its a 1400 CFM blower with 4 speeds, Low, Med-Low, Med-high and High. We had it on high, and moved it to med-high. Then recently I moved it to Med-low and had warmer heat from the registers. We have been able to produce 105* heat from the registers, but wasn't sure about lower speeds. If the high setting is 1400 and ideas of the other settings?

Old 12-24-10, 12:53 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Only 105º? What is the source of heat?

Old 12-24-10, 04:54 PM
L