Fan Switch ID?


  #1  
Old 12-27-10, 03:28 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Fan Switch ID?

Hello,

I have a fan switch that needs to be replaced on an old Gaffers and Sattler furnace. I have searched online for a replacement but cannot find anything similar to what I have. I am not even sure if this is the correct fan switch for this unit. Below is a picture of the switch. any help would be great. Thank you.

http://i1134.photobucket.com/albums/...jpg?1293492367
 
  #2  
Old 12-27-10, 04:26 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
That looks like a Cam-Stat fan switch. You need to remove it & measure the length. There might be something here:
furnaceparts.com - Camstat
 
  #3  
Old 12-28-10, 02:38 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the reply. There are some similar switches on that site. The furnace is a Gaffers and Sattler 125 FEF and I think this limit switch is not the correct one. Any idea what the correct limit switch would be? Thank you.

Tom
 
  #4  
Old 12-28-10, 03:12 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: st louis
Posts: 23
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
the picture you are showing is for a fan switch...looks like bi-metal type....if you take it off you will see if the back side is flush or extends into the furnace...are you sure this is the switch you need to replace?
 
  #5  
Old 12-28-10, 04:35 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes. This switch is not working correctly. It is sticking in the on position so the fan runs continuously. It extends into the furnace about 4 inches but looks like nothing I have seen online. All of the switches I have seen have a round part which extends into the furnace and this one is rectangular in shape and as large as the front of the switch. So it is about 4 inches long by 3/4 of an inch wide and 2 inches tall.

Thanks
Tom
 
  #6  
Old 12-28-10, 04:40 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Certainly sounds like a CamStat. Now that you have it out, how about posting a picture or three.
 
  #7  
Old 12-28-10, 05:48 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
That would be perfect...However, this heater is at my mothers house about 75 miles away. I wish I would have taken more pictures. I will get more pictures next time I am there.

Thanks,
Tom
 
  #8  
Old 12-28-10, 06:27 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here is a side view drawing from memory. I don't know if it will help.

http://i1134.photobucket.com/albums/...g?t=1293589596

Thanks,
Tom
 
  #9  
Old 12-28-10, 06:33 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Honestly, the brand & shape are secondary. Insertion depth is the biggest factor. Most furnaces in which Cam-Stat controls were used couldn't take the deeper insertion of another fan control. FYI, most Cam-Stat controls are wedge shaped other than the rectangular mounting plate.
 
  #10  
Old 12-28-10, 06:52 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose,Ca
Posts: 1,277
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
You will probably do yourself a favor, if you use another Camstat fan switch. Camstat's element that extends into the heat exchanger are narrow and tall compared to other brands. The opening inmost furnace brands that use this switch, the HX is designed for this switch.
 
  #11  
Old 12-29-10, 04:40 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies guys. I will be looking for a Camstat switch with the same length element. Your help is much appreciated.

Thank you,
Tom
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: