Furnace Pilot Light won't stay Lite. Don't know how to fix the problem.

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-01-11, 01:49 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnace Pilot Light won't stay Lite. Don't know how to fix the problem.

I don't know how to fix this problem. I took a video of the problem. Thanks for any help

YouTube - Furnace won't stay lite. How do I fix this problem?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-01-11, 02:24 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,251
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
On one end of the burner rack is the ignition (either hot surface or pilot) & on the other end should be a rod with a porcelain insulator.
Remove that rod & clean it with a scotch brite pad or steel wool. Report results.
 
  #3  
Old 01-01-11, 03:55 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Where is the porcelain insulator located at? Would it help to take pictures of the inside of the furnace?

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 01-01-11, 04:10 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,251
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
In the video I see one on the right burner. I don't know if that is the ignition or the flame rod. What you want to clean is the rod itself, not the porcelain.
More pix can't hurt.
 
  #6  
Old 01-01-11, 06:19 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,251
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Thumbs up Great shots, thanks.

Since that's a dual rod, I have to presume it's possibly a flame sensor-ingitor combination. Remove & clean both rods. As close as they are together, you may have to use sandpaper. If so, don't use anything heavier than 400 grit. What make & model is the furnace? I'll see if I can find a wiring diagram online.
 
  #7  
Old 01-01-11, 06:47 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The model is a weather king and the it is a select 90 plus

I noticed that when I turn off the furnace for about an hour and turn it back on it stays lite until it heats the temperature on the thermostat but when it turns on again the second time the light doesn't stay on. I don't know if that has anything to do with it.

Sorry if I should naive. The dual rod system is referring to this image?
http://img706.imageshack.us/img706/5695/imag0710k.jpg

Thanks again for your help
Evan
 
  #8  
Old 01-01-11, 07:13 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,251
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Yes, that photo shows the dual rod to which I was refering. With the extra information you've provided, there may be another problem but let's start by cleaning those rods. The flame sensing circuit is the most common cause for the problem the video shows. Additionally, cleaning the rods is easy and usually cures the problem.
 
  #9  
Old 01-01-11, 08:39 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi again,

I cleaned the dual rods as you said and the furnace lights the flame but it doesn't stay on. I took a video of it so you can see it.

YouTube - Furnace will not stay lite

Thanks again
 
  #10  
Old 01-01-11, 08:44 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,142
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
Get a new flame sensor/igniter. Flame sensor is not sensing flame after 3 seconds and shuts down.

Mike NJ
 
  #11  
Old 01-01-11, 09:16 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,251
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
"I noticed that when I turn off the furnace for about an hour and turn it back on it stays lite until it heats the temperature on the thermostat but when it turns on again the second time the light doesn't stay on. I don't know if that has anything to do with it."

With this information & after cleaning the rods, I don't believe the problem is with the flame sensing circuit. I suspect either a vent or condensate drain problem. After the furnace trys to light several times the control should lockout & give you a blink code visible thru the window on the blower compartment. If so, remove the blower compartment door & on the inside of the door should be a sticker showing what those codes mean.
 
  #12  
Old 01-01-11, 09:21 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,142
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
Yes a pressure switch failure will cause this also. I did not look up any info on his model.

Mike NJ
 
  #13  
Old 01-02-11, 01:18 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,251
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Guitar548

Do you have a multimeter & know how to use it?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: