Need help with magic chef furnace!!

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-08-11, 10:20 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help with magic chef furnace!!

I have a Magic Chef furnace Model#48HWC18A-19 Serial#A07814LHB
It is a direct vent forced air furnace with cooling unit and it will not light. I can hear the furnace run when I turn the thermostat up but the blower will not kick in unless I do it manually. There is no pilot light so I am hoping that the thermocouple is the issue. I would like to find a manual for this furnace so I can try to change the thermo myself. I did find the Thermocouple in the furnace however I was not able to extract it because I was worried that without instruction I might make things worse. If there is any advice that can be offered such as finding a manual for this specific furnace, replacing the Thermocouple or anything else I would greatly appreciate it as I am trying to save a couple dollars if at all possible. Thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-08-11, 10:36 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Must be an older furnace since I can't find anything on it.

when I turn the thermostat up but the blower will not kick in unless I do it manually.
What blower? Induce fan for the burner, or the main blower for the house?

There is no pilot light so I am hoping that the thermocouple is the issue.
Has there been a pilot in the past?
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-11, 10:43 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The furnace was working fine last week all of a sudden when the temp dropped I didn't get heat. The main blower for the house will kick in only when I turn the switch to on. In reading some of the threadson this site I have learned that the furnace itself calls for this fan to run and not the thermostat. And yes I believe this furnace is approximately 20 years old
 
  #4  
Old 01-08-11, 02:31 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Was there a pilot light in the past on this?

When the heating blower was not working, is the pipes/duct warm?
 
  #5  
Old 01-08-11, 07:15 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
this furnace I believe uses spark ignition for the pilot. set stat to call for heat and watch process . Does pilot light? does pilot light and it continues sparking and then pilot shuts off? does pilot light, stops sparking and no main burner?
 
  #6  
Old 01-08-11, 11:42 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the info on the spark ignition, I have been able to find some good info. When I set the Tstat to call for heat there is no spark.
 
  #7  
Old 01-09-11, 05:54 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, so if you turned the fan to ON mode, then does the heat work?
 
  #8  
Old 01-09-11, 07:55 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
ok. no pilot. Check the pressure port on the draft motor for debris. Use a paper clip or small drill bit to ream out the port. Do this with the furnace off.
 
  #9  
Old 01-09-11, 10:54 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was able to get my furnace working by cleaning the pilot and the part that I believe ignites the spark. I have a feeling that this fix is only temporary because my cleaning of the parts consisted of rubbing them clean with my fingers as they are difficult to reach. When I set the Tstat for heat it sparked for about 15-20 seconds and then the pilot lit and subsequently the burners lit as well. Any suggestions for making sure this is a permanent fix would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time and I apologize for not using the correct terminology.
 
  #10  
Old 01-09-11, 11:10 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
you have the right idea by cleaning. Your furnace may use the ignitor as the flame sensor. your fingers will leave an oil residue that will probably end up burning on a residue that will act as an insulator to the flame. try to clean with a small steel brush
 
  #11  
Old 01-09-11, 11:13 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your time I will try the small steel brush!!!
 
  #12  
Old 01-09-11, 11:20 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Best thing to use to clean the sensor is the dollar bill. Wire brush/sandpaper is too much for them.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: