York Diamond 90 intermittent heat

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-14-11, 06:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York Diamond 90 intermittent heat

I had heat until last night. Then just cold air blowing. I replaced the air filter (it had been a while), shut down the unit, restarted, and everything came back on. Run fine until sometime during the night when it started blowing cold air again. I have tried to watch what is happening when I stop and restart. Most times I can see it restart, but it only stays on for a few minutes before the flames go out and I am left with cold air again. Resetting the system works, but not for long.
Help!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-14-11, 07:49 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need to take the front cover concealing the burner compartment and carefully observe and report the sequence of events which occur when you turn up the thermostat.

And post the model number of the furnace which is on the rating plate in the burner compartment.
 
  #3  
Old 01-15-11, 05:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I managed to get the furnance restarted yesterdaay, but it dies again around 7 pm. Now when it tries to go on, the blower fan starts first, then nothing else. I don't hear the inducer blower, I never see the heating element light, I don't hear the gas switch go on.
 
  #4  
Old 01-15-11, 05:50 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
check for diagnostic LED flash on control board. try to look for this through blower door window
 
  #5  
Old 01-15-11, 06:04 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,503
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the inducer motor isn't starting you need to use an AC voltmeter to check and see if the thermostat is turning the furnace on. if it is, check to see if the inducer motor has 120 VAC being supplied to it.
 

Last edited by SeattlePioneer; 01-15-11 at 08:45 AM.
  #6  
Old 01-15-11, 06:08 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
if it is in fault status the inducer may not start. Check for codes first.
 
  #7  
Old 01-15-11, 08:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fixed?

I have not ben getting any errors from the led. I did find that the switch on the lower panel was sticking. Got that working again and it seems to be working ok. Could that have ben the issue?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: