Gas Furnace


  #1  
Old 01-20-11, 08:25 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Gas Furnace

I have a 15 year old gas furnace and was told that I have a leak in the pilot light tube and that the tube could not be replaced and the whole unit has to be replaced - is this right?
 
  #2  
Old 01-20-11, 08:34 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,403
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Highly unlikely the pilot tube can't be replaced. It might be so if the gas vavle is a Honeywell Smart Valve. You may have to replace the whole pilot assembly. Not 100% sure.
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-11, 08:50 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
have you ever heard of replacing just the pilot tube - it's just a short aluminum pipe with tow connections. My buyers a/c guy said they can't due ti for liabilty reasons - seems odd
 
  #4  
Old 01-20-11, 08:55 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,403
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Horse crap. It's done all the time. Every HVAC supply house I know of sells the tubing & fittings. They just want to sell you a bigger ticket part. What part do they want to replace? Neither the gas valve nor pilot burner usually comes with pilot tubing. It has to be field fabricated. Find a more honest contractor.
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-11, 09:01 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
they said the WHOLE UNIT has to be replaced - it does not make sense that the pilot pipe cannot be replaced and reattahed to the pilot assembly and burner - is this a known safety issue? Are you familiar with the part I am talking about?
 
  #6  
Old 01-21-11, 05:48 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,403
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
I simply can't believe any contractor could justify replacing the whole furnace because of a cracked pilot tube. There has to be more to the story than what I'm reading here. Call another contractor for a second opinion. Talk to friends, neighbors, relatives, co-workers, etc. about who they use for service & what they think about those various contractors. Select one based on what you learn from your "interviews".
 
  #7  
Old 01-21-11, 06:51 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Yes, it's nonsense. Just trying to panic people who have a minor gas leak instead of replacing it at low cost.

Did they leave the furnace on or shut it off?


Frankly I'd have another outfit make the repair and refuse to pay the bill of that out fit on the grounds of fraud and/or incompetence.
 
  #8  
Old 01-25-11, 01:55 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,190
Received 78 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Mrjoebiz, the post read that the pilot tube was leaking not a CO issue. I think you posted this in 5 differents posts.

The pilot tube is leaking at what end? I have seen contractors strip the gas valve side by cross thread, but that would just require a new gas valve. That is indeed if its the valve side of the threads that got messed up. Also if a leak on the pilot side its a threaded fillitting also and probably needs tightening.

I am putting this as an example for a brand of boiler. You never did say what the make and model of your unit was????


560-742-860 - Weil Mclain 560-742-860 - Pilot Tubing w/ Compression Fittings, 22-3/4" Long


Mike NJ
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: