Goodman 3 Blinking Lights - Ongoing Issue

Old 01-23-11, 11:45 AM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Goodman 3 Blinking Lights - Ongoing Issue

Hi all - first post. I am not a professional (I'm sure that will become painfully evident as you continue reading). I have a 5 year old Goodman furnace. Beginning 2-3 years ago, the furnace will call for heat, but before the gas is ignited, the system will cycle down and report a 3 blinks diagnostic code. This is related to venting/pressure switch.

So I have literally had 6-7 service calls from trained professionals, and not a single one has been able to diagnose an issue with my furnace. Every one was able to get it running, but invariably within a few days it was deciding to not run. I have checked both incoming and outgoing PVC to ensure no blockages, both pressure switches have been diagnosed clean and operating normally. I've cleaned out drains (that didn't have anything in them). I've cleared the rubber tubes. Everything is checking out.

This final call, the serviceman decided to try something new: he unseated the incoming (2") PVC pipe fromt he top of the furnace. There's a 3-4 inch gap now that is allowing the furnace to pull air from my basement. The venting side was left as-is.

A few questions:
1) Is this safe? To reiterate, we're talking incoming, not venting. But can this create some sort of negative pressure situation if my basement is tight, and in turn pull exhaust down some other CO generating appliance (such as the hot water heater sitting right next to the furnace)? Any other risks?

2) This *seems* to have taken care of the issue. My furnace has run without issue for 4 days. And it's been relatively cold here (5 degrees F at night). Does this mean that perhaps the run on the incoming side is in some way faulty? I've checked the manual, and it indicates that either 2 or 3" pipe can be used. Should I replace with 3"?