Oil primary/cad sensor problem (I think)

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-27-11, 08:04 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oil primary/cad sensor problem (I think)

I have a Carlin burner that started acting up the other day. Other than extremely cold temperatures I cannot pinpoint any other changes that may have had any effect. We realized that our burner was not running so I went down and checked the reset on the primary. The burner fired right up and everything seemed fine. A little while later I realized that it was out again. I started to see a pattern. It appeared that the burner would run its cycle and bring eveything up to temperature (it is a hot water radiator system) and once the cycle completes it seemed to trip the primary. Unsure what was causing the problem I purchased a new primary and a new cad cell. After installing both items I now have a problem where the burner will run for a period of time anywhere from thirty seconds to twenty minutes and then trip the primary. The burner is igniting with a nice yellow flame. With brand new cad cell and primay I can't seem to figure out what keeps tripping the primary. Any thoughts or tests that I can run would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-28-11, 11:47 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So I have found that I can keep the burner running by placing a jumper on the FF terminals on the primary. This has been helpful as it allows me to bring the house back up to temperature but once the cycle finishes I have to remove the jumper for it to fire again. Agaij, any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
 
  #3  
Old 01-28-11, 02:11 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,240
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
When you replaced the cad cell, did you just replace the cell or the whole assembly? I'm wondering about a possible bad cell holder or wire.
 
  #4  
Old 01-28-11, 02:33 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by pentabarf View Post
I have a Carlin burner that started acting up the other day. Other than extremely cold temperatures I cannot pinpoint any other changes that may have had any effect. We realized that our burner was not running so I went down and checked the reset on the primary. The burner fired right up and everything seemed fine. A little while later I realized that it was out again. I started to see a pattern. It appeared that the burner would run its cycle and bring eveything up to temperature (it is a hot water radiator system) and once the cycle completes it seemed to trip the primary. Unsure what was causing the problem I purchased a new primary and a new cad cell. After installing both items I now have a problem where the burner will run for a period of time anywhere from thirty seconds to twenty minutes and then trip the primary. The burner is igniting with a nice yellow flame. With brand new cad cell and primay I can't seem to figure out what keeps tripping the primary. Any thoughts or tests that I can run would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Ahead of that cad cell is a plate to spread the air on a lot of the burners. There might be a 1/2" hole so the cad cell can see the flame. Is it clean in there so the cell can work. Later Paul
 
  #5  
Old 01-28-11, 04:11 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To be safe, I replaced the entire cad assembly.
 
  #6  
Old 01-28-11, 04:34 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,240
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Since you've replaced the whole cad cell assembly & the primary, I have to believe either the cad cell is not getting a good look at the flame or something is wrong with the flame.
Start by removing the nozzle assembly. Carlin end cones are attached to the nozzle assembly. Clean the cone with a small wire brush & service the fuel system (replace nozzle, filter, & pump screen). Flush the system before installing the new nozzle. Install the new nozzle, fire the burner & let's see if it behaves now.
 
  #7  
Old 01-28-11, 04:37 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did just put a new nozzle in, but I did not think to clean the end cone. I will tear down and clean and report back in a little while.
 
  #8  
Old 01-28-11, 04:40 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,240
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
By "clean" I mean exactly that. If it isn't clean enough to eat off of, it isn't clean.
 
  #9  
Old 01-30-11, 03:24 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sory for the delay in response I had a few things come up.

Anyhow, I just wanted to say that I now feel like a fool. I usually clean the cone when I replace the nozzle and this time I didn't and never even attributed that to any of my issues. But everything has been running just fine since the cleaning.

Thanks again for the help.
 
  #10  
Old 01-30-11, 07:00 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,240
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Trust me, you don't have the market cornered on feeling like a fool. I just had one kick my butt. Spent 3 hrs on what should have taken 1 hr.
Glad all is well now.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: