Riello 40 series burner. System Not firing up.

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-07-11, 04:06 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Riello 40 series burner. System Not firing up.

Whole system is failry new installed in 2006. system would not fire up hit reset button and it would work, but again sometime during the week would do same I had to hit reset button. System was always maintained. Had repair service come said it was pump ok replaced pump and am back at square one only now when i hit reset button it wont start at all no fuel coming through when we bleed it. I am freezing lol Help!

Janie
 
  #2  
Old 02-07-11, 06:50 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,362
Received 33 Votes on 31 Posts
Since you are getting no fuel when you open the bleeder, you either have a fuel supply problem or a bad pump. With this being a new pump, it's highly unlikely the pump is the problem.

Tank indoors or out? If outdoors the line could be frozen or if the line comes off the bottom, the valve could be frozen.
If the tank is indoors & the line comes off the bottom, turn off the valve, disconnect the line at the burner (direct the open end into a container), & have a helper turn the valve back on. No fuel flow? Work your way back toward the tank until you get fuel.
 
  #3  
Old 02-07-11, 06:59 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tank is below ground he blew out the lines and they are clear but still no fuel flow
 
  #4  
Old 02-07-11, 07:14 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,362
Received 33 Votes on 31 Posts
This may sound like a crazy question but are you sure you have ample fuel in the tank?
 
  #5  
Old 02-07-11, 07:18 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes had 150 gallons dropped
 
  #6  
Old 02-07-11, 07:45 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,362
Received 33 Votes on 31 Posts
If the burner has two lines connected to it from the tank, you may be able to get it primed by using a jumper wire.

TURN OFF THE POWER AT THE SWITCH
Push the reset (leave power turned off)
Remove the burner cover.
Loosen the screw on the left side of the grey control box.
Insert a screwdriver between the control box & the metal burner body & pry gently to slide the box back toward you.
Remove the control box.
Install a jumper with an alligator clip on each end between terminal #'s 5 & 6 on the base onto which the control was mounted.
Turn on the switch & KEEP YOUR HANDS CLEAR OF THE TERMINALS.
Open the bleeder & allow the burner to run until you get a full flow of oil from the bleeder or no more than 3-4 minutes.
Close bleeder.
TURN OFF THE SWITCH
Remove jumper, re-install control & cover.
Turn on power & burner should fire.
QUESTIONS?
 
  #7  
Old 02-07-11, 07:49 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Grady View Post
If the burner has two lines connected to it from the tank, you may be able to get it primed by using a jumper wire.

TURN OFF THE POWER AT THE SWITCH
Push the reset (leave power turned off)
Remove the burner cover.
Loosen the screw on the left side of the grey control box.
Insert a screwdriver between the control box & the metal burner body & pry gently to slide the box back toward you.
Remove the control box.
Install a jumper with an alligator clip on each end between terminal #'s 5 & 6 on the base onto which the control was mounted.
Turn on the switch & KEEP YOUR HANDS CLEAR OF THE TERMINALS.
Open the bleeder & allow the burner to run until you get a full flow of oil from the bleeder or no more than 3-4 minutes.
Close bleeder.
TURN OFF THE SWITCH
Remove jumper, re-install control & cover.
Turn on power & burner should fire.
QUESTIONS?
It has one line they took the other one off
 
  #8  
Old 02-07-11, 07:53 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,362
Received 33 Votes on 31 Posts
Same procedure should still work. To maybe help the pump some, if you have any fuel oil, diesel, or kerosene, you can pre-fill the fuel filter.
 
  #9  
Old 02-07-11, 07:59 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok there is a screw on the pump how many turns should that be turned out he said it is set at 5 turns out
 
  #10  
Old 02-07-11, 08:11 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,362
Received 33 Votes on 31 Posts
Do not touch the screw. That screw is for regulating pressure. The screw I was talking about is in the side of the control box (left side, near the bottom).
 
  #11  
Old 02-07-11, 08:15 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
RRRRRRRRRRRRRRR too late he touched it
 
  #12  
Old 02-07-11, 08:18 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,362
Received 33 Votes on 31 Posts
Stop right there. It's time to call someone who has the instruments to check the pump pressure. Riellos can be very fussy about their fuel pressure.

Do not attempt to screw a pressure gauge into any of the fittings. Riello burners are all metric. If you try to use a gauge with standard threads you will damage the pump.
 
  #13  
Old 02-07-11, 08:27 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
he said he set it back where it was. we didnt stick any pressure gauges anywhere. For now he is going to disconnect the line from the tank and put the line going to burner i can of diesle to see if the pump draws the fuel from the can. if it doesnt draw fuel i am callling the clowns who charge me 480. for the new pump
 
  #14  
Old 02-07-11, 08:30 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,362
Received 33 Votes on 31 Posts
Four hundred and eighty clams for a pump? Must have been a flat rate company.
 
  #15  
Old 02-07-11, 08:47 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no that included cleaning and tuneup the pump itself was 200.
 
  #16  
Old 02-07-11, 08:52 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,362
Received 33 Votes on 31 Posts
That still sounds high but better.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: