Ignitors wont ignite American Standard 80

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-21-11, 07:54 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ignitors wont ignite American Standard 80

Hello, my ignitors wont turn on or glow when told by the computer. The furnace goes through its complete cycle. But when called to turn on the ignitors they wont glow at all. Then the computer cycles as it should and flashes a code 9 which is a check ignitor. So how do I check the ignitors? All the connections are good and tight as I checked everything. I have a American Standard 80 furnace which is about 10yrs old and is in very good condition. Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 02-21-11, 08:11 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
with multimeter check power to Ignitor and or check resistance of ignitor
 
  #3  
Old 02-21-11, 09:38 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I should also mention that a HVAC tech checked out my system and said I needed a new controller board....for $500! I said no thanks and got one myself brand new for $100!! Swapped it out and still the same issue. Which leads me to believe that the original board is just fine. So to check the resistance what type of reading am I looking for? I know there probably should be some resistance. If its open then its bad. As far as power....Im not sure what voltage I should be looking for. Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 02-21-11, 09:48 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A bad ignitor usually reveals itself with a visible crack, usually outlined with a whitish powder. If you see that, replace the ignitor.
 
  #5  
Old 02-22-11, 03:52 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by axlsavage View Post
I should also mention that a HVAC tech checked out my system and said I needed a new controller board....for $500! I said no thanks and got one myself brand new for $100!! Swapped it out and still the same issue. Which leads me to believe that the original board is just fine. So to check the resistance what type of reading am I looking for? I know there probably should be some resistance. If its open then its bad. As far as power....Im not sure what voltage I should be looking for. Thanks
Because its american standard, it depends on weather the ignitor is carbide or nitride as to how to answer you question of resistance or voltage.
Nitride


Carbide
 
  #6  
Old 02-22-11, 11:33 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, I have the nitrade type. So I measured it at 22ohms. I then checked to see if Im getting voltage to the ignitor....120volts no pulsating dead nuts on. The ignitor did have a little bit of white ash on it and no cracks. So it looks like everything is good. Except that the ignitor was loose which means bad ground. So Im reassembling, tightning it down and doing another test. Ill be back.......
 
  #7  
Old 02-22-11, 11:50 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Darn, igntor still wont glow. So is 22.8ohms for a nitrade ignitor good or bad? Im getting 120V at the connector when its called for. Thanks
 

Last edited by axlsavage; 02-22-11 at 12:12 PM.
  #8  
Old 02-22-11, 12:22 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I took out the ignitor to check it again. Now its reading 55ohms and if I wiggle the nitrade part (which I belive it should not do) I get 100 - infinity. So Im off to get an ignitor.....Ill be back.

PS: Itís definitely open!
 
  #9  
Old 02-22-11, 12:30 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
sounds like you have a bad ignitor!
 
  #10  
Old 02-22-11, 01:57 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, I cant find the ignitor locally. My furnace model number is AUD080C948K1.
The tag on the ignitor has 2 p/n's. 768A15 and A341947P01.
My ignitor voltage is measuring 120V. But all the cross references I have
seen show a 80V ignitor. I dont know if that matters. The tag numbers cross to IGN00117 and now to IGN00145, both 80V Does it matter? I have to order the part and I want to be correct before I do. Thanks
 
  #11  
Old 02-22-11, 02:13 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
can you post a picture of your ignitor?
http://forum.doityourself.com/thermo...st-photos.html
can you find a CNT number on your control board?

Has the control board been replaced recently?
 
  #12  
Old 02-23-11, 10:29 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #13  
Old 02-23-11, 10:33 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The original control board is p/n CNT05165. I replaced it with p/n CNT03798 which is supposed to be the current upgrade. It looks exactly the same as the original plug for plug. Thanks
 
  #14  
Old 02-23-11, 03:44 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
actually the current upgrade is 05165 is that what you meant? and the old one was 03798?

either one of these boards should have 80V ignitor output and may be why your ignitor has failed.
 
  #15  
Old 02-23-11, 04:01 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah I just reversed it. So what would cause 120V at the plug?
 
  #16  
Old 02-23-11, 04:04 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
that would be a faulty control board.
 
  #17  
Old 02-23-11, 04:30 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a brand new control board.....really?
 
  #18  
Old 02-23-11, 04:40 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
.........................that or bad meter?! If you have it, check the box the new board came in and on the outside it should list some specs such as "for silicone nitride igntiors" and it may give 80 or 120V info as well. And check instructions that came with board.
 
  #19  
Old 02-23-11, 08:04 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, I checked the box and the instructions. Instructions specifically say to use 80V Silicon Nitride ignitor. Specifications and wiring diagram for the new board say that the ignitor is getting line voltage which is 120V. The microprocessor runs a algorithm that limits the temp to the ignitor. So, looks like mystery solved. Thanks
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: