GB3AAV furnace Code 31 inducer not working


  #1  
Old 10-05-11, 07:34 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GB3AAV furnace Code 31 inducer not working

I have a GB3AAV furnace that has a code 31. The inducer does not come on. I have done the following:

I bypassed the draft safeguard and auxiliary limit switch and the inducer still did not come on.

Removed, and check the ohms of the pressure switch. it moves freely and open and closed without a problem.

I jumped the inducer directly and it spins freely.

I did a component test and the inducer does not work but everything else does.

Is there anything that i am missing? I am thinking that the board is out. It has a furnace control model HK42FZ004.

Am I correct in my thinking or is there something else that I should check

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 10-05-11, 09:58 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your comments on tests you have done are too vague to be of too much use.


Did you do the circuit board self test? If so, describe the sequence of events that occurred.

Measure the AC voltage present between R and C. Measure the voltage between W and C when the thermostat is calling for heat.

You should have 24 VAC between W and C when the thermostat is calling for heat, and the inducer motor should switch on at that point.

If it doesn't, check to see if you have 120 VAC between the two wires powering the inducer motor.
 
  #3  
Old 10-05-11, 10:31 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The self test is what I called the component test. If I am correct, the inducer should come on first for 10 seconds. It does not come on at all. Then, the ignitor for 15 sec, blower cooling speed for 10 sec and then blower heat speed for 10 sec. Everything works fine except the inducer.

I never could get any VAC between the two wires powering the inducer motor that is why I jumped it to see if the inducer motor worked and it did.

I did not measure the voltage between R and C or W and C with the heat set on. I will do that tomorrow and follow up. I assumed that the transformer was working fine because the A/C works fine.
 
  #4  
Old 10-06-11, 08:50 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need to replace the ignition control/circuit board, which is failing to turn on the inducer motor.
 
  #5  
Old 10-06-11, 09:24 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
After thinking about it, I already checked the volts between R and C and W and C, but I didn't take an actual reading of the volts.

Anyway, between R and C = 26.6, between W and C = 26.1

Does that help conclude that it is the board that is out, since the inducer does not work in the self test and no power is going to the inducer?
 
  #6  
Old 10-06-11, 03:59 PM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The voltage you are getting between R and C indicates that you have low voltage power and that the thermostat is trying to turn on the furnace.

The next thing that should happen is for the ignition control to turn on power to the inducer motor. Since that isn't happening, you have a bad ignition control/circuit board.
 
  #7  
Old 10-06-11, 07:51 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replaced them board and everything works perfect.

Thanks
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: